Using Waiting Room

Last Updated:

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees one by one, or hold all attendees in the Waiting Room and admit them all at once. You can send all participants to the Waiting Room when joining your meeting, or you can allow participants from your Zoom account and participants with specified domains to bypass the Waiting Room. As the host, you can also choose to automatically move participants to the Waiting Room while a meeting is in progress if you lose connection from the meeting.

Participants will see the following screen when joining a meeting with Waiting Room enabled:

You can also customize the Waiting Room screen with your own logo, title, and description, or add a video to be watched before joining.

This article covers: 

Prerequisites for using Waiting Room

Use Waiting Room

Two-way chat with Waiting Room participants

  • Zoom desktop client
    • Windows: 5.8.0 or higher
    • macOS: 5.8.0 or higher
    • Linux: 5.8.0 or higher
  • Zoom mobile app
    • Android: 5.8.0 or higher
    • iOS: 5.8.0 or higher
  • Zoom web client

Viewing a video in Waiting Room

  • Zoom desktop client
    • Windows: version 5.7.3 or higher
    • macOS: version 5.7.3 or higher
  • Zoom mobile app
    • Android: version 5.7.3 or higher
    • iOS: version 5.7.3 or higher

Rename participants in the Waiting Room

Limitations of Waiting Room

  • If the Waiting Room is enabled and set to capture all incoming participants, join before host will not work for that meeting. You can set internal account members or participants with a specific domain to bypass the Waiting Room. 
  • Webinars do not support Waiting Room. Use a webinar practice session as an alternative.
  • The Waiting Room is disabled by default for instant meetings and Zoom Phone calls elevated to a meeting. You can only enable Waiting Room for these meetings using the Security option in your in-meeting controls.
  • If two-way chat with Waiting Room participants is enabled, the host and all participants will be required to upgrade to the minimum version or higher to join meetings. Alternatively, participants unable to update due to IT restrictions, can join through the web client instead. 

How to use Waiting Room

Enable or disable Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click More and choose Enable Waiting Room to enable or disable the feature.

Admit a participant during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. In the Waiting Room section, click Admit next to a participant's name to allow them to join the meeting.

Admit all participants from the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click Admit all.
    Screen_Shot_2020-07-24_at_5.06.34_PM.png

Send participants to the Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click More next to the participant's name and choose Put in Waiting Room.
    Screen_Shot_2020-07-24_at_5.10.04_PM.png

Send messages to participants in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host, click Chat .
  2. Click the dropdown next to To:
  3. Click Everyone (in Waiting Room).
  4. Enter and send your chat message to the Waiting Room. 

Once the message has been sent, the participants in the Waiting Room will see the message on the Waiting Room screen:

Rename participants while they are in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host or co-host, click Participants .
  2. In the Waiting Room section, click (More) next to a participant's name.
  3. In the drop-down menu, click Rename.
  4. Enter a new name, then click Change.
    The participant will receive a notification that the host renamed them, as well as what they have been renamed to. Participants can click OK or Leave Meeting. Clicking OK does not admit them.

Enable or disable Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click More and choose Put in Waiting Room to enable or disable the feature.

Admit participants during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click Admit to have the participant join the meeting.

Send participants to the Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click More next to the participant's name and choose Put in Waiting Room.

Rename participants while they are in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host or co-host, click Participants .
  2. In the Waiting Room section, click (More) next to a participant's name.
  3. In the drop-down menu, click Rename.
  4. Enter a new name, then click Change.
    The participant will receive a notification that the host renamed them, as well as what they have been renamed to. Participants can click OK or Leave Meeting. Clicking OK does not admit them.

Enable or disable Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, tap More in the meeting controls.
  2. Tap Security.
  3. Make sure Waiting Room is enabled.

Admit participants during a meeting

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Next to the name of the participant you want to admit, tap Admit.

Send participants to the Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Tap the name of the participant you want to send to the Waiting Room.
  3. Tap Put in Waiting Room.

Admit all participants from the Waiting Room

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Tap Admit all.

Send messages to participants in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host, tap More .
  2. Tap Chat.
  3. Next to Send to:, tap the drop-down.
  4. Choose Everyone (in Waiting Room).
  5. Type and send your message.

Rename participants while they are in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host or co-host, tap Participants .
  2. In the Waiting Room section, tap a participant's name.
  3. Tap Rename.
  4. Enter a new name, then tap Change.
    The participant will receive a notification that the host renamed them, as well as what they have been renamed to. Participants can tap OK or Leave Meeting. Tapping OK does not admit them.

Enable or disable Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, tap More in the meeting controls.
  2. Tap Security.
  3. Tap Waiting Room to green to enable or white to disable.

Admit participants during a meeting

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Next to the name of the participant you want to admit, tap Admit.

Admit all participants from the Waiting Room

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Tap Admit all.

Send participants to the Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the host, tap Participants .
  2. Tap the name of the participant you want to send to the Waiting Room.
  3. Tap Put in Waiting Room.

Sending messages to participants in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host, tap More.
  2. Tap Chat.
  3. Next to Send to:, tap the drop-down.
  4. Choose Everyone (in Waiting Room).
  5. Type and send your message.

Rename participants while they are in the Waiting Room

  1. As the meeting host or co-host, tap Participants .
  2. In the Waiting Room section, tap a participant's name.
  3. Tap Rename.
  4. Enter a new name, then tap Change.
    The participant will receive a notification that the host renamed them, as well as what they have been renamed to. Participants can tap OK or Leave Meeting. Tapping OK does not admit them.

Admit participants during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click Admit to have the participant join the meeting.

Send participants to the Waiting Room during a meeting

  1. As the meeting host, click Participants .
  2. Click More next to the participant's name.
  3. Click Put in Waiting Room.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.