Waiting Room Follow

Overview

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. 

Note: If the Waiting room option is enabled, Join Before Host will not work for your meetings. 

Note:  After November 4, 2017 enabling Zoom features uses Tiered Settings. Previously configured settings for the Waiting Room feature will continue to work in the same way. Changes made by an administrator might affect meetings and webinars that use this setting.

Prerequisites

  • PC or Mac version 4.0.x or higher

Enabling Waiting Room

Enable Waiting Room for Your Account

To enable the Waiting Room feature for all members of your organization:

  1. Sign into the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit Account settings, and click Account Settings.
  2. Navigate to the Waiting Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled. 
    If the setting is disabled, click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.EnableWaitingRoom_Account.png
  3. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable Waiting Room for a specific group

To enable the Waiting Room feature for all members of a specific group:

  1. Sign into the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit User groups, and click Group Management.
  2. Click the name of the group, then click the Settings tab.
  3. Navigate to the Waiting Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled. 
    If the setting is disabled, click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
    EnableWaitingRoom_Group.png
    Note: If the option is grayed out,  it has been locked at the Account level, and needs to be changed at that level.
  4. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in this group, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable Waiting Room for your own meetings

To enable the Waiting Room feature for your own use:

  1. Sign into the Zoom web portal and click My Meeting Settings (if you are an account administrator) or Meeting Settings (if you are an account member).
  2. Navigate to the Waiting Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
    EnableWaitingRoom_EndUser.png
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the Group or Account level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.

Using Waiting Room

  1. Once in meeting, the option will be enabled under Manage Participants under More



  2. Once a participant joins, you will see the option to either Admit or Remove the user. Selecting Admit will allow them to join the meeting.


  3. When a participant is waiting to enter the meeting, they will see the following

 

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk