Using Canvas App with Zoom as a Meeting Host Follow

About

The Zoom for Canvas Integration supports the ability to schedule meeting, list upcoming meeting, list history meeting and join meeting within the Canvas account. Users can leverage Zoom meetings from within a Canvas course. Features include creating, joining and deleting a Zoom meeting; as well as creating Calendar Event and creating Canvas Conversation.

Before you can use the Canvas app as a meeting host, your Canvas and Zoom admin(s) need to configure the integration

Prerequisites

Display Upcoming Meetings

The Upcoming Meetings tab displays the list of upcoming meeting list when users click the Zoom link. Note: All time related information in Zoom is based on the time zone of the Canvas user’s Account Profile, rather than the time zone specified in the user’s Zoom account

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.26.31_PM.png

Display Previous Meetings

To see the list of previous meetings, users can click the Previous Meetings tab.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.27.40_PM.png

Schedule a Single Meeting

Zoom Meetings can be scheduled from within a Canvas Course. Users access the Zoom for Canvas tool from the navigation area for the course. The landing page shows information on upcoming meetings and previous meetings. Any user with the correct permissions will see the Schedule a New Meeting button.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.28.46_PM.png

Click the Schedule a New Meeting button to display the Schedule a Meeting page.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.29.19_PM.png

Schedule a Recurring Meeting

Zoom supports recurring meeting that sync with Canvas Calendar. Enable the Recurring meeting checkbox if you need to schedule daily, weekly, or monthly recurrences of a meeting. When this checkbox is enabled, you see the Recurrence, Frequency, and Count fields, where you can customize the number of meetings and how frequently they occur.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.31.46_PM.png

When you schedule a recurring meeting, you can expand it in list of upcoming meeting. The following example shows that “Mathematical Foundations of Computing” is a daily meeting with 3 occurrences.
Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.32.33_PM.png

Delete a Meeting

Only the meeting creator can delete a meeting that has been created using the Zoom for Canvas tool.

To delete a meeting

  1. On the Upcoming Meeting list, click Delete next to the meeting to be deleted.
  2. Click OK in the pop-up dialog to confirm that the meeting is to be deleted.

The event is removed from the Canvas calendar, and a new conversation notifies course members that the meeting has been deleted.

Start a Meeting

Users who have a Zoom Account can click Start to launch a scheduled meeting.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.39.29_PM.png

Automatically Create Meeting Notifications

Canvas users are notified via a Canvas conversation message and a Canvas calendar event when a meeting is created. If a meeting is deleted, Canvas users receive a Canvas conversation message and the meeting is removed from their Canvas calendar.

When you schedule a meeting, the Canvas Calendar is updated as shown in the following example:

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.41.40_PM.png

In this example, the calendar event ‘Problem-Solving for the CS Technical Interview” belongs to the Math Club course. You can click an item in the CALENDARS pane (the Math Club item, in this example) to filter events.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.42.53_PM.png

The Agenda displays events with a list format.

Note that when you schedule a recurring meeting, each occurrence is an independent event that is not linked to other instances of the meeting. This means that if you need to modify all instances of a meeting, each event must be edited individually.

The following example shows a weekly recurring event.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.54.41_PM.png

People enrolled in the course receive a Canvas conversation message in their Canvas Inbox and can click the Join link to start or join the meeting at the scheduled time.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.55.50_PM.png

Displaying Recordings

Click the My Recordings tab to see the list of meetings that you recorded. If the recording is not ready, it will show a status of “processing”. When the recording is ready, you can play, share, or download the recording.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.57.33_PM.png

Share a Recording

  1. Click a meeting topic to see the recordings files available for the meeting. Each meeting has multiple recordings, including a combined Audio/Video file and an Audio Only file.
  2. Click the Share link below the file you want to share.Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.58.52_PM.png
    When you click the Share link, the following dialog displays.
    Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_12.59.48_PM.png
  3. Click the Select All button to copy the recording links to the clipboard. This lets you share the copied links with anyone you choose.

Download a Recording

  1. Click the My Recordings tab to see the list of meetings that you recorded.
  2. Click the Download link below a file to download that file to the computer you are currently using. Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_1.01.43_PM.png

Note: A Zoom Account administrator can disable Cloud recording downloads in the Zoom Account Settings page.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_1.04.22_PM.png

Play a Recording

  1. Click the My Recordings tab to see the list of meetings that you recorded.
  2. Click on the icon of the recording to begin playing it in a new window. 
    Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_1.07.06_PM.png
    Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_1.08.15_PM.png

Delete a Recording

  • When you click Delete for a recording, Zoom moves the recording to the Trash.
  • To delete all recordings associated with a particular meeting, click Delete on the My Recordings page. This moves all recordings for that meeting to the Trash.
  • To delete a single recording, click a meeting topic to open the Recording Details page of that meeting, then click Delete to move that recording to the Trash
  • To recover or delete a recording that is in the trash, click the Trash(x) link, then click either the Recover or Delete link for that recording. If you take no further action, the recordings in the trash will be saved for 30 days. To permanently delete the recordings in the trash, click Empty Trash.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-01_at_1.12.06_PM.png

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk