Using Tiered Settings Follow

Overview

Tiered Settings provides a hierarchical way to manage the settings that affect meetings, webinars, and audio conferences. The settings can be controlled at the Account level, the Group level, and the User level so that events throughout the organization have enforced settings when required, while allowing meeting and webinar organizers the flexibility to customize other settings.

 

Important: Beginning November 4, 2017, Zoom will use Tiered Settings for managing most account settings. Any settings that you previously configured will continue to work in the same way as before. However, any adjustments that you make to account or group settings can affect meeting settings configured by members of your account. Make sure that you communicate potential changes to your account members, especially if you lock any settings.

This article covers:

For new accounts

If you are configuring your Zoom account for the first time:

    1. Sign into the Zoom web portal and click Account Settings.
      This page includes the following tabs:
      • Meeting
      • Recording
      • Telephone
    2. Determine if the default values for any settings need to be changed. See Default Settings for details. Any change affects all groups and users in the account.
      • To provide maximum control, click the Lock icon to the right of the option name. This prevents groups or individuals from changing the setting. See Locked settings for details.
      • To provide maximum flexibility to groups and individuals, leave the lock icon open. This allows different groups to have different settings, and to lock those settings for members of their groups.
    3. If your organization uses Group Settings, determine whether any of the groups need to have different settings from the default values that you set for the account.
    4. For each group that requires different settings, navigate to Group Settings > group_name > Settings. This page includes the following tabs:
      • Meeting
      • Recording
      • Telephone
    5. Update any setting that was not locked at the Account level.
      Making changes at the group level affects all members of that group. If a member of your account belongs to multiple groups with different settings, the settings that apply to that member is described below in Conflicting settings

For existing accounts

Any settings that you or a member of your account changed from the default will remain in its updated state in the following locations:

      • Account Settings
      • Group Management > group_name > Settings
      • Users > user_name > Settings
      • Meeting Settings (for account members who are not administrators) or My Meeting Settings (for account administrators)

The location of the options and the way that you can manage them has been changed. See Migrating to Tiered Settings for details about the new location of each option.

Managing settings

Default settings

For settings that affect all users in your account, the new method for changing settings provides better control. Most settings are controlled individually rather than as a group, with each option controlled by its own Status toggle.If a setting is changed at the account level, that becomes the default setting for all groups and users in the account unless the setting had been previously changed by a group or user.

For example, the default value for the End-to-end encryption option is Off. Suppose you had previously switched this option to On, but some of the users in your account switched it Off. By default, all members of the account will have this option switched On, except for any users who had previously switched it Off. The option will remain Off for those users, unless you lock the setting.

Locked settings

Each setting can be locked at either the account level or the group level. Locking a setting at the account level means that the setting cannot be changed by any user. Locking the setting at the group level means that members of the group cannot change the setting.

 

For example, suppose you want to force all users in your account to use end-to-end encryption. Since this setting is switched Off by default, you would need to do the following:

      1. Sign into the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit Account settings, and click Account Settings.
      2. Navigate to the End-to-end encryption option on the Meeting tab and click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
      3. Click the lock icon, and then click Lock in the confirmation dialog.

The End-to-end encryption option for all groups and all account members will immediately switch to On, and all meetings and webinars will use end-to-end encryption.

However, suppose you want to force only the users in the Engineering group to use end-to-end encryption, and you want members of other groups to have the choice about whether to enable or disable this setting. You would need to do the following:

      1. Sign into the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit Account settings, and click Account Settings.
      2. Navigate to the End-to-end encryption option on the Meeting tab and click the Status toggle to enable the setting. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
        Note that you do not want to lock this setting at the account level, since that would prevent any users in your organization from switching it Off. At this point, the setting for all members of your account would have this option switched On.
      3. Click Group Management.
      4. Click the name of the group (in this example, you would click the name of the Engineering group), then click the Settings tab.
      5. Navigate to the End-to-end encryption option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
      6. Click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.  
      • For members of your account who are in the Engineering group, the End-to-end encryption option will immediately be grayed out and cannot be switched Off.  All meetings and webinars for these group members will use end-to-end encryption.
      • For members of your account who are not in the Engineering group, the End-to-end encryption option will be switched on, but will not be locked.  Meetings and webinars for these members will use end-to-end encryption by default, but the member has the ability to switch this option Off.  

Conflicting settings

If an individual is a member of multiple groups, and the settings for those groups conflict with each other, the precedence is given to settings that are locked. For settings that are locked in different positions in multiple groups, precedence is given based on the order in which the user was added to the group.

For example, suppose an organization has a group named Contractors, and then later creates a group named Engineers. The following tables show the setting for an employee named John who is a member of both Contractors and Engineers.



 

On

Off

Locked On

Locked Off

Contractors

x

     

Engineers

     

x

John

     

x

 

Although John joined the Contractors group first, his setting will be locked Off, since locked settings take precedence.

 

 

On

Off

Locked On

Locked Off

Contractors

   

x

 

Engineers

     

x

John

   

x

 

 

Since the settings for both groups are locked in conflicting positions, John’s setting is locked On because John was added to the Contractors group prior to being added to the Engineers group.

 

 

On

Off

Locked On

Locked Off

Contractors

x

     

Engineers

 

x

   

John

x

     



 

On

Off

Locked On

Locked Off

Contractors

 

x

   

Engineers

x

     

John

 

x

   

 

Since neither of the settings is locked, John’s setting is the same as the Contractors, since John was added to the Contractors group prior to being added to the Engineers group.

Was this article helpful?
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk