The Zoom Community is here!
We welcome all Zoom customers to come together on the Zoom Community to ask questions, find solutions,
and collaborate with peers. Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating!

Deactivating, unlinking, or deleting users from your account Follow

Account owners and admin can delete, deactivate, or unlink users from your Zoom account. You can do this for several users at once by uploading a CSV file or selecting several users in the user management page. You can also delete, deactivate, or unlink a single user.

  • Deactivating a user will prevent them from signing in to their Zoom account or utilizing any of the features. This user will not be searchable and, if a starred contact, there will be a Deactivated indication next to their name. 
  • Unlinking a user will give them their own basic, free Zoom account. It will not be associated with your account, and they will be able to purchase their own licenses. You can transfer the user's data (meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings) to another user before disassociation.
  • Deleting a user will permanently remove the user, including their settings, meetings, webinars, and recordings, from Zoom. You can transfer the user's data (meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings) to another user before deletion. Meetings scheduled with Personal Meeting ID cannot not be transferred. 

Note: You can't deactivate, unlink, or delete users that haven't activated their account.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner access, if the user is an admin
  • Account owner or admin access, if the user is a member
  • Bulk delete, unlink, and deactivate privilege for deactivating, unlinking, or deleting several users at once

How to convert an admin to a member

Before you can remove an admin from your account or deactivate them, you will need to make them a member. You will not need to follow these steps if the user is already a member. You must be the account owner to make an admin a member.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user.
  4. Click Edit next to their name.
  5. Change the User Role from Admin to Member.
  6. Click Save.

You can now review any of the following sections on how to deactivate, disassociate, or delete a user.

How to deactivate users

Deactivating a user will remove all licenses associated with a user. It will prevent them from signing in to their Zoom account. Deactivation allows you to reactivate a user later. Although the licenses have been removed, the settings will remain intact. If deactivated users attempt to sign in, they will receive a message saying that their account has been disabled. 

Deactivate a single user

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user that you want to deactivate and remove their features.
  4. Click the More icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Click Deactivate.

Deactivate multiple users by selecting them

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Select users you want to deactivate by clicking the check boxes in the first column.
  4. Click Deactivate at the top of the table.

How to activate a user that was deactivated

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user.
  4. Click Activate in the right-side column.
    Note: You will need to reassign any licenses they had before deactivation.

How to unlink a user

Unlinking a user from your account allows them to maintain their Zoom account, including existing settings, meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings, if these are not moved to another user and necessary licenses are applied after unlinking. After being unlinked from your account, users will need to purchase the necessary licenses on their new account. 

Note: If you have managed domains on your account, you will not be able to unlink a user with an email address at one of the managed domains.

Unlink a single user

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user you want to remove. 
  4. Click the More icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Click Unlink from your account.
  6. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and have a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  7. Click Transfer Data then Disassociate or Unlink Now Without Data Transfer.
    This user will now have their own Zoom account. They can purchase their own licenses if needed.

Unlink multiple users by selecting them

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Select users you want to deactivate by clicking the check boxes in the first column.
  4. Click Unlink at the top of the table.
  5. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and have a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  6. Click Transfer Data then Disassociate or Unlink Now Without Data Transfer.
    This user will now have their own Zoom account. They can purchase their own licenses if needed.

How to delete a user

Deleting a user permanently removes them and their data from Zoom. They will be able to create a new Zoom account with the same email address if they have access to it. You can transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another Zoom user before deleting, but if you do not transfer these, they will be permanently deleted. Meetings scheduled with Personal Meeting ID cannot be transferred. 

Note: Zoom Rooms on your account will also appear as a user. These users cannot be deleted from the Users page, but rather the Zoom Room itself must be deleted from the Zoom Rooms page. Once the Zoom Room is deleted, the associated user will be deleted as well. 

Delete a single user

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user you want to remove. 
  4. Click the More icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and have a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  7. Click Transfer Data then Delete or Delete Now Without Data Transfer.

Delete multiple users by selecting them

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Select users you want to deactivate by clicking the check boxes in the first column.
  4. Click Delete at the top of the table.
  5. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and have a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  6. Click Transfer Data then Delete or Delete Now Without Data Transfer.

How to bulk deactivate, unlink, or delete users by uploading a CSV file

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. On the right side of the page, click Import.
  4. Click the Update Users tab.
  5. In the Select an action from the options listed below drop-down menu, select Deactivate users, Unlink users, or Delete users.
  6. Click Download CSV Sample to download a sample you can fill out.
  7. Open the file using spreadsheet software like Microsoft Excel.
  8. Enter users' information following the CSV format, then save the file.
    Note: If you're unlinking or deleting users, make sure to specify these fields if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and have a webinar license to transfer webinars.
    • Data transfer to Email: (optional): Specify another user to transfer data to. The user must be in the same account.
    • Transfer Meetings: Enter Yes or No.
    • Transfer Webinars: Enter Yes or No.
    • Transfer Events: Enter Yes or No.
    • Transfer Recordings: Enter Yes or No.
  9. Go back to the Zoom web portal and click Upload CSV File.
  10. Click the CSV file you edited, then click Open.