Removing a user from your account Follow

Overview

You can delete, deactivate or unlink a user from your Zoom account.

  • Deactivating a user will prevent them from signing in to their Zoom account or utilizing any of the features.
  • Unlinking a user will give them their own basic, free Zoom account. It will not be associated with your account, and they will be able to purchase their own licenses. You can transfer the user's data (meetings, webinars and cloud recordings) to another user before disassociation.
  • Deleting a user will permanently remove the user, including their settings, meetings, webinars, and recordings, from Zoom. You can transfer the user's data (meetings, webinars and cloud recordings) to another user before deletion.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner access, if the user is an admin
  • Account owner or admin access, if the user is a member

Converting an admin to a member

Before you can remove an admin from your account or deactivate them, you will need to make them a member. You will not need to follow these steps if the user is already a member. You must be the account owner to make an admin a member.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management > Users.
  3. Search for the user.
  4. Click Edit next to their name.
  5. Change the User Role from Admin to Member.
  6. Click Save.

You can now review any of the following sections on how to deactivate, disassociate or delete a user.

Deactivating a user

Deactivating a user will remove all licenses associated with a user. It will prevent them from signing in to their Zoom account. Deactivation allows you to reactivate a user later. Although the licenses have been removed, the settings will remain intact.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user that you want to deactivate and remove their features.
  4. Click the ellipses icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Choose Deactivate.

    If they attempt to sign in, they will receive a message saying that their account has been disabled.

 

Activating a user that was deactivated

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user.
  4. Click Activate in the right-side column.
    Note: You will need to reassign any licenses that they had before deactivation.

Unlinking a user from your account

Unlinking a user from your account allows them to maintain their Zoom account, including existing settings, meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings, if these are not moved to another user and necessary licenses are applied after unlinking.

Note: If you have managed domains on your account, you will not be able to unlink a user with an email address at one of the managed domains.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management > Users.
  3. Search for the user you want to remove. 
  4. Click the ellipses icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Click Unlink from your account.

  6. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  7. Click Transfer Data then Disassociate or Disassociate Now Without Data Transfer.
    This user will now have their own Zoom account. They can purchase their own licenses if needed.

Deleting a user

Deleting a user permanently removes them and their data from Zoom. They will be able to create a new Zoom account with the same email address if they have access to it. You can transfer meetings, webinars and cloud recordings to another Zoom user before deleting, but if you do not transfer these, they will be permanently deleted.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click User Management then Users.
  3. Search for the user you want to remove. 
  4. Click the ellipses icon (...) in the right-side column.
  5. Click Delete.

  6. (Optional) Click the check boxes if you want to transfer meetings, webinars, and cloud recordings to another user. The other email address will need to be a Licensed user to transfer cloud recordings and a webinar license to transfer webinars.
  7. Click Transfer Data then Delete or Delete Now Without Data Transfer.
Was this article helpful?