Using shared inboxes from Zoom Mail

Last Updated:

Users can access and use shared inboxes from Zoom Mail. Once a shared inbox has been created in the Zoom web portal, the shared inbox is accessible and functional for users in the Zoom Mail client. Users can also assign incoming emails to members of the shared inbox.

Note: Users cannot log in/log out of a shared inbox.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for using shared inboxes from Zoom Mail

How to access the shared inbox account

Access shared inbox from email notification

After a shared inbox has been created in the Zoom web portal and the account admin adds you to it, you will receive an email notification in your personal Zoom Mail account. In the email notification, click the link, and you will be directed to the shared inbox in the Zoom Mail client.

View and access the shared inbox account from the desktop client

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client.
  2. Click the Mail  tab.
  3. Ensure that the shared inbox account is selected:
    • Select the shared inbox account from the settings dropdown menu:
      1. In the top-right corner, click the Settings icon .
      2. Under Accounts, select the shared account. 
    • Select the shared inbox account from the Accounts settings.
      1. In the top-right corner, click the Settings icon , then click Email Preferences.
      2. In the navigation menu, click Accounts
      3. Select the shared account. 

How to use the shared inbox

In the shared account, all functions (view, reply to, search, and filter emails) will perform normally for you if you have editor privileges (determined in the web portal). Learn more about how to view, reply to, search, and filter emails.

When emails are sent or drafted from the shared inbox, you can see which member wrote that email. Note: The “Sent by” text will not be visible to the recipient. However, this will always be displayed to you and other shared account users because you may reassign the email to someone else, and this allows everyone to know who previously responded in the email thread.

How to leave the shared inbox

In your settings, you can leave that shared inbox, which will be a permanent change.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client.
  2. Click the Mail  tab.
  3. In the top-right corner, click the Settings icon , then click Email Preferences.
  4. In the navigation menu, click Accounts
  5. To the right of the shared account, click Leave

Zoom Community

Join the 250K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.