Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.




Managing users Follow

Overview

User management allows account owners and admins to manage their users, such as add, delete, and assign roles and add-on features.

This article covers:

Learn how to remove a user by deleting, deactivating, or unlinking them from your account.

Prerequisites

  • Free with Credit Card, Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
  • Owner or admin privileges

Accessing user management

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
    You will see the following tabs:

    • Users: Current users in the account. You can do the following:
      • Edit the account type of each user (Basic, Licensed, and On-Prem) or department.
      • Add users one at a time or import a CSV file to add multiple users at once.
      • Export users to a CSV file.
      • The owner can set Admin users or assign a custom role.
    • Pending: People that have been invited to join the Zoom account but haven't activated their account.
    • Advanced: View user statistics and change several users at once.

Note: Only the account owner can promote member to an admin or demote an admin to a member.

Adding a new user

Note:  You can add or update several users at once by importing a CSV file.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. To add a new user to your account, click Add Users.

  4. Enter the user information.
    • Email Address: Enter in the user's email address. If you need to add multiple users with the same settings, you can enter in multiple email addresses separated with a comma.
    • User Type: Select if this user should be Basic (free), Licensed, or On-Prem. To assign a Licensed user, you will need to have licenses available. To assign an On-Prem user, Meeting Connector needs to be enabled.
    • Feature: Check which features you want the user to have. You will need to have available licenses for these features.
    • Department, Job Title, and Location (optional): Enter information to appear on the user's profile. The user's profile can be viewed by other users. The user can customize their profile to change this information later on.
    • User Group: If you are using group management, select a group to add this user to.
    • IM Group: If you are using IM management, select an IM group to add this user to.
    • Default Password: Set a default password for the user.
  5. Click Add

Notes

  • New users will be sent an activation email. Users with existing free Zoom accounts under the same email address will be sent an email to accept your invitation.
  • Owners of paid accounts will also be prompted to decide how to handle any remaining balances on their account. More information about the invitation process is available, including accepting invites and best practices.  
  • When adding an existing Zoom user to your account, they will retain their current personal meeting ID (PMI), cloud recordings, and meetings/webinars.

Viewing pending users

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Click the Pending tab to see users that haven't confirmed their accounts:
    • If a user hasn't accept their invitation and can no longer find it in their inbox, you can resend the confirmation email to them using the Resend button.
    • If you do not want to allow a user to join your account, you can click on delete before they accept your email invitation.

Note: Pending invitation will expire after 30 days and will be removed from the pending list.

Changing advanced user management settings

Advanced settings allow you to change the user type of several users at once, remove users, and set the default user type.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Click the Advanced tab to see the following information and settings:
  • User Summary
    • Total users: total number of Basic, Licensed, On-Prem, and Zoom Room users.
  • Change User Type
    • Change all account members who are not administrators: Convert users who are the specified user type to another user type. You can't use this to change owners or admins. For example, you can change all Basic users to Licensed users.
    • Unlink all account members with user type: Remove all members with the specified user type. Their Zoom accounts will be disassociated from your Zoom account.
      Note: This does not affect Admins or users tied to the account due to Associated Domain.
    • Change default domain user type: Change the default user type when adding new users with Associated Domain.
  • Change User Group
    • Set default user group: Set the default user group for new users to be automatically assigned to. 
    • Switch user group: Move all unassigned or users in a specific group to another group. 
    • Add domain users to group: Assign all users with an approved Associated Domain to a specific group. 
  • Change IM Group 
    • Set default IM Group: Set the default IM group for new users to be automatically assigned to. 
    • Switch IM group: Move all unassigned or users in a specific IM group to another IM group. 

Note: For more information for settings under Change User Group and Change IM Group, see the articles for group management and IM management.

Viewing and removing external contacts

If users in the account add external contacts, you can view these external contacts and remove them from the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. In the Users tab, click the gear icon  in the top-right corner of the table, then select External Contacts.
  4. Locate a user that has external contacts, then click the number in the External Contacts column.
    You will see a list of external users that were added by the selected user.
  5. (Optional) Click the number in the Channels column to view channels or group chats they are members of.
  6. Click the ellipses icon (...) in the last column, then click Remove from Account.

Removing an external contact will lead to the following results:

  • The external contact will be removed from the internal user's contacts list in the desktop client and mobile app (My Contacts section in the Contacts tab).
  • The external contact will be removed from all internal channels and group chats they are members of.
  • The external contact can still access chat history for 1-on-1 chats.
  • The external contact's chat history is still viewable by admins. This includes 1-on-1 chats, channels, and group chats.
  • The external contact can be re-added to the account by internal users.