Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.



Managing user groups Follow

Overview

Group management allows you to turn settings on or off for a group of users in your account. You can also lock settings on or off to force them on or disable them for the group.

The group settings mirror the settings available for the entire account and for individual users. Settings can also be turned on or off and be locked at the account level. If not locked for the account or group, they can be adjusted by the individual user. Learn more about tiered settings.

If a user is in multiple groups, an admin can set a primary group for users. The user will use the primary group's settings by default. However, if settings are locked in other groups, those settings will be locked for that user. By default, the primary group is the first group that user is added to.

You can also set group admins to manage the members and settings for that group. The group admin can also see if the group they manage is set as the primary group for users within the group. The group admin does not need to be an account admin or have role permissions to edit user groups.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Pro, Business, or Education account
  • Account owner or admin privileges

Adding a new group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click Add Group.
  4. Enter the name of the new group. 
  5. Click Save.
  6. This group will now show up in your groups list.

Setting group admins

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group you would like to set admins for.
  4. Click Group Admins.
  5. Enter one or more names or email addresses of users that you would like to set as group admins.
  6. Click Add.

Adding members to a group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Check the users you want to add to the group. 
  4. Click Group.
  5. Confirm the list of users.
  6. Select the name of the group from the User Group drop-down menu.
  7. Click Save.

Set a user's primary group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group you would like set as primary.
  4. Click the ellipses icon (...) next to the user you would like to set the primary group for.
  5. Click Set as Primary Group.
  6. Confirm that you would like to set this group as primary for this user by clicking Save.

Changing advanced group management settings

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Users.
  3. Click the Advanced tab.
  4. Scroll down to the Change User Group section to see the following settings:
  • Set default user group: Set the default group for all users added to your account going forward.
  • Change user group: Move users from one group to another group.
  • Add domain users to group: Add all users with an email address at the managed domain to a specific group.

Changing meetings, recording, and telephone settings for a group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group.
  4. Click the gear icon Group Settings.
  5. This will open the Settings. Settings are under three tabs: Meetings, Recording, and Telephone.
  6. Click to toggle a setting on or off.
  7. Click the lock icon to lock a setting. If you lock a setting, the group members will not be able to modify it individually.
  8. Settings can also be locked at the account level. This will be noted next to the setting. If a setting is locked at the account level, you will need to change it under Account Settings.
    Screen_Shot_2017-12-06_at_7.24.02_PM.png

Settings

In addition to the meeting, telephone, and recording settings available to users, you can access these settings:

Note: Some settings are dependent on certain prerequisites. If you do not see a setting listed for your group, review the article on the setting to see if your account meets those prerequisites.

Meeting tab

Recording tab

  • Prevent hosts from accessing their cloud recordings: Do not allow hosts to view their cloud recordings for meetings. Only admins with recording management privilege can access their cloud recordings.
  • Cloud recording downloads: Allow anyone with a link to the cloud recording can download the recording.