Enabling breakout rooms

Last Updated:

Breakout rooms allow you to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions. The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, or they can allow participants to select and enter breakout sessions as they please. The host can switch between sessions at any time.

Note: Zoom Support can increase the maximum capacity of your account's Breakout Rooms, but this requires all participants to be on Zoom client version 5.2 or higher. If your users do not have administrative control of their computers, this will require assistance from your IT Department to update the client. 

This article covers:

Prerequisites for enabling breakout rooms on Zoom

  • Account owner or admin privileges

Note: Before using breakout rooms, see the limitations of breakout rooms.

How to enable breakout rooms

Account

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of your organization:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Breakout room toggle to enable it.
  5. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) Select the check boxes for the following breakout room options, then click Save:
    • Allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms
    • Allow hosts to broadcast message to participants. This allows the host to broadcast a message to all participants in breakout rooms. 
    • Allow hosts to create, rename, and delete breakout rooms when rooms are open. 
      Note: This option must be enabled by Zoom before it is available and requires 5.9.3 or higher. 
  7. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups.

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of a specific group:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Breakout room toggle to enable it.
  6. f a verification dialog appears, click Enable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level, and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. (Optional) Select the check boxes for the following breakout room options, then click Save:
    • Allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms
    • Allow hosts to broadcast message to participants. This allows the host to broadcast a message to all participants in breakout rooms. 
    • Allow hosts to create, rename, and delete breakout rooms when rooms are open
      Note: This option must be enabled by Zoom before it is available and requires 5.9.3 or higher. 
  8. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in this group, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

To enable the breakout room feature for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Breakout room toggle to enable it.
  5. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.
  6. (Optional) Select the check boxes for the following breakout room options, then click Save:
    • Allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms
    • Allow hosts to broadcast message to participants. This allows the host to broadcast a message to all participants in breakout rooms. 
    • Allow hosts to create, rename, and delete breakout rooms when rooms are open.
      Note: This option must be enabled by Zoom before it is available and requires 5.9.3 or higher. 

How to use breakout rooms

After enabling breakout rooms, you can do the following:

Zoom Community

Join the 83K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.