Note: We are experiencing longer wait times than normal due to increased demand. You can still view answers to frequently asked questions or contact us but wait times may be longer than expected. Thank you for your patience.

Enabling breakout rooms Follow

Overview

Breakout rooms allow you to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions. The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, and can switch between sessions at any time. 

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner or admin privileges

Note: Before using breakout rooms, see the limitations of breakout rooms.

 

Account

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of your organization:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
  4. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.
  5. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of a specific group:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group, then click the Settings tab.
  4. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

    Note: If the option is grayed out,  it has been locked at the account level, and needs to be changed at that level.
  5. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in this group, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

To enable the breakout room feature for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings (if you are an account administrator) or Settings (if you are an account member).
  3. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the Group or Account level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.
  4. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.

Using breakout rooms

After enabling breakout rooms, you can do the following:

Was this article helpful?