Important Notice: Please update all of your Zoom applications to version 5.0 or higher. After May 30, 2020, all Zoom applications on older versions will receive a forced upgrade when trying to join meetings as GCM Encryption will be fully enabled across the Zoom platform. Learn more on how to update your Zoom application or update now.

Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.



Enabling breakout rooms Follow

Overview

Breakout rooms allow you to split your Zoom meeting in up to 50 separate sessions. The meeting host can choose to split the participants of the meeting into these separate sessions automatically or manually, and can switch between sessions at any time. 

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner or admin privileges

Note: Before using breakout rooms, see the limitations of breakout rooms.

 

Account

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of your organization:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
  4. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.
  5. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

To enable the breakout room feature for all members of a specific group:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group, then click the Settings tab.
  4. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

    Note: If the option is grayed out,  it has been locked at the account level, and needs to be changed at that level.
  5. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in this group, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

To enable the breakout room feature for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings (if you are an account administrator) or Settings (if you are an account member).
  3. Navigate to the Breakout Room option on the Meeting tab and verify that the setting is enabled.
    If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the Group or Account level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.
  4. (Optional) Click the checkbox to allow meeting hosts to pre-assign participants to breakout rooms.

Using breakout rooms

After enabling breakout rooms, you can do the following: