The Zoom Community is here!
We welcome all Zoom customers to come together on the Zoom Community to ask questions, find solutions,
and collaborate with peers. Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating!

India e-mandate directive

Beginning October 1, 2021 the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) e-mandate directive will be taking effect for recurring payments using India Bank Cards. Visit our FAQ page for more information.

Viewing stored chat messages Follow

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, the chat history tool has been move to Reports (Account Management > Reports > User Activity Reports tab > Chat History).

If chat cloud storage is enabled, chat messages are archived and stored on Zoom’s cloud leveraged AWS DynamoDB. Archived messages are stored up to 10 years.

Note: If a user switched from a free account to a paid account, account owners and admins can only access chat history from the time that the user became a paid account.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner or admin privileges
  • Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
  • Users must have Zoom desktop client version 3.5 or higher for message to be stored

Enabling or disabling group messaging archiving

To enable group messaging archiving on your account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then IM Management.
  3. Click the IM Settings tab.
  4. Under Storage, click the Cloud storage toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.
  6. Select the amount of time you would like to save chat messages for. Messages can be saved on Zoom's Cloud for up to 10 years.

Learn more about chat storage settings.

Note: By default, only the account owner has access to group messaging archives through the Chat History tab. Account owners can allow other admins or users on the account access to the chat history by adding the Chat history permission using role-based access control.

Viewing and downloading stored messages

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then IM Management.
  3. Click the Chat History tab.
  4. Specify a time period using the From and To fields.
    Note: The time period can be up to 1 year.
  5. (Optional) Enter a user's name or email to search for messages sent or received by a specific user.
  6. Click Search.
  7. Use these options to view or download messages:
  • View: View messages for the associated 1-on-1, group, or channel chat conversation.
  • Download: Download messages for the associated 1-on-1, group, or channel chat conversation as a CSV file.
  • Compress All for Download: Compress each chat thread in the current search results as a ZIP file containing CSV files. You will be redirected to the Downloads tab to download the ZIP file when it's finish processing. ZIP files will be password protected. In the Downloads tab, click Show in the File Password column to view the password to extract each ZIP file.
  • Note: External users will have the EXTERNAL label beside their email address.

Deleting stored messages

You can also delete messages, files, or images for internal users. Other admins with permissions to view or edit chat history will be able to view the name of the admin that deleted the message. Deleted messages are still viewable in the chat history tool but are crossed out to indicate it's been deleted.

Deleted messages are deleted in the Zoom desktop client and mobile app. Deleted messages will be deleted for all users in the 1-on-1 or group chat, but only the user that sent the message will a notification message stating that the admin has deleted their message. If the deleted message is a parent message with replies, replies will not be deleted.

Note: You must have the permission to edit chat history in role management.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then IM Management.
  3. Click the Chat History tab.
  4. Specify a time period using the From and To fields.
    Note: The time period can be up to 1 year.
  5. Enter a user's email address and click Search.
  6. Hover over the messages and click the trash bin button to delete the message.