The Zoom Community is here!
We welcome all Zoom customers to come together on the Zoom Community to ask questions, find solutions,
and collaborate with peers. Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating!

Allowing removed participants or panelists to rejoin Follow

Overview

By default, if you remove meeting participants, webinar attendees, or webinar panelists from the live session, they will not be able to rejoin the session using the same email address, but will be able to rejoin a future session. If you would like removed participants to be able to rejoin, this behavior can be changed, but the live session will not be immediately impacted, as it will need to be stopped and restarted before the change is recognized. 

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner or admin privileges for allowing removed meeting participants or webinar panelists to rejoin at group or account level

Allowing removed meeting participants or webinar panelists to rejoin

Notes:

  • This setting doesn't apply to webinar attendees. You can allow removed webinar attendees to rejoin by accessing the webinar in the web portal.
  • Changing this setting does not apply to live meetings or webinars. The session needs to be stopped and restarted for the change to take effect. 

Account

If you are the account admin, you can allow rejoining for all members of your organization:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In-Meeting (Basic), verify that Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled.
  5. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the name of the group.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under In-Meeting (Basic), verify that Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level, and needs to be changed at that level.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in this group, click the lock icon  and then click Lock to confirm the setting. 

User

To enable allowing removed participants to rejoin meetings for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In-Meeting (Basic), verify that Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.

Allowing removed webinar attendees to rejoin

If you removed attendees during a webinar (with or without registration), you can access the webinar in the web portal to allow them to rejoin. 

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Webinars.
  3. Click the topic of the webinar you want to edit.
  4. In the Manage Attendees section of Invitations tab , click Edit.
    Note: The Manage Attendees section will not appear until an attendee has been removed. 
  5. Click Approve next to the attendee to allow them to region. You can also select multiple attendees using the check boxes, then click Approve at the bottom of the pop-up window.