Using Call Delegation and Shared Lines (Zoom Desktop Client or Mobile App) Follow

Overview

Note: This article covers the new call delegation and shared lines feature released on September 28, 2019. If you are using the old version of call delegation. Contact Zoom support to have it upgraded.

Call delegation provides an easy way for phone users to assign others to handle calls on their behalf. For example, an executive can assign calling privileges to their assistant, allowing the assistant can make and receive calls on the executive’s behalf.

Before following this article, make sure to set up call delegation and shared lines.

The following terms are used in this article:

  • The delegator is the phone user that assigns phone privileges to another phone user. Each delegator have up to 15 delegates.
  • The delegate is the phone user that makes and receives calls on the delegator's behalf. Each delegate can be assigned to a maximum of 15 delegators.
  • Shared lines are direct phone numbers that belong to the delegator but can be used by their delegates.

You can also use call delegation on a provisioned desk phone.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

 

Selecting a Shared Line

The delegator or delegate can select a shared line in before making a call.

Delegator

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client or mobile client.
  2. Click or tap Phone.
  3. Click or tap Caller ID menu below the dial pad.

You will see your own direct phone numbers which are shared lines. To identify who has access to these shared lines, see your call delegation and shared lines settings.

Delegate

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client or mobile client.
  2. Click or tap Phone.
  3. Click or tap Caller ID menu below the dial pad.

You will see the delegator’s name above the shared lines.

 

Making a Call (Delegator)

When the delegator makes a call after selecting a shared line, the delegate can see that the delegator is using the line.

Delegator

Make a call after selecting a shared line.

Delegate

Go to the Lines tab to display the name of the delegator that is using the shared line, the number they are calling, and the duration of the call.

Making a Call (Delegate)

The delegate can make calls on the delegator's behalf by selecting a shared line. The shared line will appear as busy for the delegator.

Delegate

Go to the Lines tab to display the name of the delegate that is using the shared line, the number they are calling, and the duration of the call.

 

Delegate

Make a call after selecting a shared line.

 

Receiving a Call

The delegator and delegate will receive call notifications when someone calls a shared line.

Delegator

The call notification displays the number of the shared line.

Delegate

The call notification displays the name of the delegator after Call for.

Note: If the delegator or delegate receives a call notification while they are busy on a phone, they can answer it and place the previous call on hold.

 

Transferring a Call

If the delegate or delegator receive a call on a shared line, they can answer a call on a shared line then transfer it to each other.

Note: The screenshots below demonstrate a transfer from delegate to delegator. The same steps can be followed when transferring from delegator to delegate.

Desktop

  1. Delegate: Click Hold in the call controls to place the call on hold.
  2. Delegator: Click the Lines tab to view the call that the delegate has placed on hold.
  3. Delegator: Click the phone hold icon  to answer the call on hold.
  4. When the call is finished, the delegator can end the call or transfer the call back to the delegate using the same process (place the call on hold then inform the delegate to answer the call by clicking the phone icon  in the Lines tab).

Mobile

  1. Delegate: Tap Hold in the call controls to place the call on hold.
  2. Delegator: Tap the Lines tab to view the call that the delegate has placed on hold.
  3. Delegator: Click the phone hold icon  to answer the call on hold.
  4. When the call is finished, the delegator can end the call or transfer the call back to the delegate using the same process (place the call on hold then inform the delegate to answer the call by clicking the phone icon  in the Lines tab).

 

Transferring a Call on a Busy Line

If the delegator or delegate notices the other is busy on a call, they can still answer the call and transfer it.

Note: The screenshots below demonstrate a transfer from delegate to delegator. The same steps can be followed when transferring from delegator to delegate.

Delegate

Answer the call on a busy shared lined and place it on hold for the delegator.

Delegator (currently on a call)

Go to the Lines tab to view the call that the delegate has placed on hold. Click the phone hold icon to answer the other call. The current call will be placed on hold.

 

Viewing Call History

Delegates and delegators can view all call history for the shared lines. If a delegator or delegate deletes a call history entry related to a shared line, the entry will only be deleted for the phone user that made the deletion.

Call history entries are labelled so you can easily identify calls:

Note: These labels are not displayed when viewing call history in the web portal. 

Delegator

  • Outgoing calls made by you will not have a label attached.
  • Outgoing by (delegate name) for you: An outgoing call was made by the delegate.
  • Calls answered by you will not have a label attached.
  • Answered by (delegate name) for you: The call was answered by the delegate.

Delegate

  • Outgoing by (delegator name): The delegator made an outgoing call using a shared line.
  • Outgoing by you for (delegator name): You made an outgoing call using a shared line.
  • Answered by (delegator name): The call to the shared line was answered by the delegator.
  • Answered by you for (delegator name): You answered an incoming call to the shared line. 

 

Viewing Call Recordings

If a delegator or delegate records a call using a shared line, the call recording is only available to the person that made the recording.

For example, if the delegator recorded a call using a shared line, the call recording is available in the History tab:

The delegate will only see the associated call history entry (not the call recording):

 

Viewing Voicemail Inbox

Delegates and delegators can play and delete voicemail messages left for shared lines.

  • If a delegate or delegator deletes a voicemail message, the message will be deleted for all other delegates and delegators.
  • If a delegate or delegator plays an unplayed voicemail messges, the message will show as played for all other degates and delegators.
  • The delegate can only view voicemail messages in the Zoom desktop client or web portal

Delegator

Voicemail messages for shared lines appear as regular voicemail messages.

Delegate

Voicemail messages belonging to shared lines will be labelled with the delegator's name so you can easily identify them.

Note: You can only view shared voicemail messages in the Zoom desktop client or web portal.

To only view voicemail messages belonging to shared lines:

  1. Click the drop-down menu below the Voicemail tab.
  2. Use the check boxes to only select the delegator's name.

 

Was this article helpful?