Pre-assigning Participants to Breakout Rooms Follow

Overview

As a meeting host, you can split your meeting participants into breakout rooms when scheduling the meeting. This can be useful if you already know how you want to split up your participants.

You can also manage your breakout rooms during the meeting.

Note: You can only pre-assign participants that are in the same organization. If you have registration enabled and external participants register for the meeting, you need to assign them to breakout rooms during the meeting.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Breakout rooms enabled in your meeting settings
  • Meeting host: Zoom desktop client for Windows or Mac, version 4.5.0 or higher
    Note: If you start the meeting from the Linux client or mobile app, you will not be able to see your breakout rooms with pre-assigned participants.

Pre-assigning Participants to Breakout Rooms using the Web Portal

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Meetings and schedule a meeting.
    Note: Make sure to enable join before host.
  3. In the Meeting Options section, select Breakout Room pre-assign and click Create Rooms.
  4. Click the plus icon beside Rooms to add breakout rooms.
  5. Hover over the default breakout room name and click the pencil icon to rename it.
  6. In the Add participants text box, search for participants' name or email address to add them to the breakout room.
  7. (Optional) Use these options to edit your breakout rooms and participants:
    • Click and drag a participant's email address to change the order.
    • Hover over a participant's name to see options to move them to another room or remove them from the current room.
    • To delete a breakout room, hover the room name in the left panel and click the trash bin icon. 
  8. Click Save.

Pre-assigning Participants to Breakouts Rooms using a CSV File

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Meetings and schedule a meeting.
  3. In the Meeting Options section, select Breakout Room pre-assign and click Import from CSV.
  4. Click the download link to download a sample CSV file you can fill out.
  5. Open the CSV file with spreadsheet software like Microsoft Excel.
  6. Fill in the columns with the room name and email address of the participants, then save the file.
  7. Drag and drop the file in the web portal. Zoom will verify that the email address belongs to the same organization.

Editing Breakout Rooms Assignment

If you have already pre-assigned participants to breakouts rooms, you can edit the assignments before you start the meeting. 

Note: You can also manage breakout rooms during the meeting.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Meetings and click the meeting you want to edit.
  3. In the Breakout Room section, click View detail.
  4. Edit the breakout rooms as needed. See the previous section for more details.
  5. Click Save.

Starting a Meeting with Pre-assigned Breakout Rooms

  1. Start the meeting with participants pre-assigned to breakout rooms. 
  2. Click Breakout Rooms in the meeting controls to access the breakout rooms you created.

    • If a participant joins before you (the host), they will be automatically assigned to the breakout room you specified when scheduling the meeting. 
    • If a participant joins after you (the host), they will not be automatically assigned to the breakout room you specified when scheduling the meeting. Revert to pre-assigned breakout rooms to assign participants to their pre-assigned breakout rooms.
  3. Click Open All Rooms to start the breakout rooms.
    Note:
    • If a participant joins after you started the breakout rooms, they won't be pre-assigned to the breakout room you specified when scheduling the meeting.
    • If a participant is in their pre-assigned breakout room and they leave the meeting and rejoin, they won't rejoin their pre-assigned breakout room.
    • You can manually assign participants using the in-meeting breakout room controls, or revert to pre-assigned breakout rooms.

Reverting to Pre-assigned Breakout Rooms

After starting the breakout rooms, you can revert to the breakout rooms assignment you previously specified. This can be useful if you changed your breakout rooms during the meeting, or pre-assigned participants have joined the meeting after you joined the meeting or started breakout rooms. 

  1. Click Close All Rooms to end all breakout rooms.
  2. Click Recreate > Recover to pre-assigned rooms

    Participants will be re-organized into the breakout rooms you specified when scheduling the meeting.

Learn more about managing breakout rooms.

Was this article helpful?