At Zoom, we are hard at work to provide you with the best 24x7 global support experience during this pandemic. As part of this ongoing commitment, please review our updated Support Guidelines.

Changing your meeting, recording, and telephone settings Follow

Overview

Your meeting settings allows you to enable or disable features for your meetings. These settings control the availability of many features, such as breakout rooms, recording, and chat. Settings are tiered and can be turned on/off or locked by your admin.

Note: This article is about settings at the user level. If you have account owner or admin privileges, you have access to user-level settings, in addition to settings at the group and account level.

This article covers:

Accessing and editing meeting settings

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click to toggle a setting on or off.
  4. Settings can also be locked at the account level or group level. This will be noted next to the setting. If a setting is locked at the account or group level, an account admin or owner will need to change it under Account Settings or Group Management.

You can change the following settings. Some settings are dependent on certain prerequisites. If you do not see a setting listed for your group, review the article on the setting to see if your account meets those prerequisites.

Note: This article is about settings at the user level. If you have account owner or admin privileges, you have access to user-level settings, in addition to settings at the group and account level.

Meeting tab

Security

  • Require that all meetings are secured with one security option: Require that all meetings are secured with one of the following security options: passcode, Waiting Room, or Only authenticated users can join meetings. If no security option is enabled, Zoom will secure all meetings with Waiting Room. 
    Note:
    • This setting is required to be enabled for these accounts: single licensed user, Pro accounts with 2 or more licenses, and Business accounts with 10-100 licenses.
    • The following accounts can enabled or disabled this setting: Enterprise, API, Business (with more than 100 licenses), and Education.
  • Waiting Room
  • Meeting passcode: All instant, and scheduled meetings that users can join via client, or room systems will be passcode-protected. A random passcode will be generated when scheduling. Participants need to enter the passcode to join the meeting. This setting doesn't apply to meetings that use the personal meeting ID (PMI).
    • Require a passcode for meeting which have already been scheduled
    • Passcode for already scheduled meetings: Enter the passcode you wish already scheduled meetings to be assigned. 
  • Personal Meeting ID (PMI) Passcode: Set a passcode for meetings that use the personal meeting ID (PMI).
  • Webinar Passcode: A random passcode will be generated when scheduling a webinar. Attendees need to enter the passcode to join the webinar.
  • Require a passcode for Personal Audio Conference
  • Require passcode for participants joining by phone
  • Embed passcode in meeting link for one-click join
  • Only authenticated users can join meetings: Participants need to authenticate before to joining the meetings.
    • Meeting Authentication Options: Change the authentication options that are available when scheduling meetings.
    • If Waiting Room is not enabled, phone dial-in only users will: Choose how phone dial-in users will be handled when authentication is enabled. They can either be allowed in or blocked entirely 
  • Only authenticated users can join meetings from Web client: Participants need to authenticate before to joining the meetings using the web client.
  • Approve or block entry to users from specific regions/countries: Allow users from specific regions to join your meetings; or block users from specific regions from joining your meetings. Users' region/country is determined by their IP address.
    Note: You change the regions/countries when scheduling a meeting using the Zoom web portal or Outlook add-in.
  • Allow use of end-to-end encryption
    • Default encryption type: If E2EE is allowed, set the default type of encryption when scheduling meetings. 

Schedule Meeting

  • Host video: Start meetings with the host's video on. The host can still use in-meeting controls to enable or disable their video.
  • Participants video: Start meetings with the participants' video on. Participants can still use in-meeting controls to enable or disable their video.
  • Audio Type: Determine how participants can join the meeting's audio.
    • Telephone and Computer Audio: Participants can join by telephone or by using their computer's microphone/speaker or headset.
    • Telephone: Participants can only join by telephone.
    • Computer Audio: Participants can only join by using their computer's microphone/speaker or headset.
    • 3rd Party Audio (only visible if you have 3rd party audio): Require that all participants follow the instructions you provide for using non-Zoom audio.
  • Allow participants to join before host: Allow participants to join the meeting before the host joins. If disabled, participants can only join after the host starts the meeting.
    • Participants can join __ minutes before start time: Specify the amount of time before the meeting start time when participants can join before host.
  • Enable Personal Meeting ID
  • Use Personal Meeting ID (PMI) when scheduling a meeting
  • Use Personal Meeting ID (PMI) when starting an instant meeting
  • Mute participants when they join a meeting: Automatically mute all participants when they join the meeting. The host controls whether participants can unmute themselves.
  • Upcoming meeting reminder: Receive desktop notifications for upcoming meetings. Reminder time can be changed in the Zoom Desktop Client.

In Meeting (Basic)

  • Require Encryption for 3rd Party Endpoints (H323/SIP)
  • Chat: Allow participants to use in-meeting chat.
  • Private chat: Allow participants to send a private messages to another participant.
  • Auto saving chats
  • Sound notification when someone join or leave: Play a chime sound or telephone recording when participants join or leave the meeting.
    • Play sound for
      • Everyone: The chime sound can be heard by the host and all participants in the meeting.
      • Host and co-hosts: The chime sound can only be heard by the host or co-hosts of the meeting.
    • When someone joins by phone
      • Ask to record their voice to use as the notification: Participants that join by telephone can record their name. This telephone recording will be played back to the host and participants depending on the settings above:
        • If Everyone is selected, the host and participants will hear a chime and telephone recording regardless of their audio device (computer or telephone audio).
        • If Host and co-hosts only is selected, the host will only hear the telephone recording if they're also using telephone audio. If the host is using computer audio, they will hear a chime sound instead.
  • File transfer
    • Only allow specified file types
    • Maximum file size
  • Feedback to Zoom
  • Display end-of-meeting experience feedback survey
  • Co-host
  • Meeting Polls
  • Webinar Polls
  • Webinar Survey
  • Always show meeting control toolbar
  • Show Zoom windows during screen share
  • Screen sharing
    • Who can share? - Host only or All participants, this can also be changed in a live meeting. 
    • Who can start sharing when someone else is sharing? - Host only or All participants, this can also be changed in a live meeting. 
  • Disable desktop screen sharing for meetings you host
  • Annotation
    • Allow saving of shared screens with annotations
    • Only the user who is sharing can annotate
  • Whiteboard
    • Allow saving of whiteboard content
    • Auto save whiteboard content when sharing is stopped

  • Remote control
    • Allow remote controlling user to share clipboard
  • Nonverbal feedback
  • Meeting reactions
  • Join different meetings simultaneously on desktop
  • Allow removed participants to rejoin
  • Allow participants to rename themselves
  • Hide participant profile pictures in a meeting

In Meeting (Advanced)

Email Notifications

  • When a cloud recording is available
    • Send a copy to the person who scheduled the meeting/webinar for the host: Send cloud recording email notifications to users that have scheduling privilege for the meeting/webinar host.
    • Send a copy to the Alternative Hosts: Send cloud recording email notifications to alternative hosts added by the host.
  • When attendees join meeting before host
  • When a meeting is cancelled
  • When an alternative host is set or removed from a meeting
  • When someone scheduled a meeting for a host
  • When the cloud recording is going to be permanently deleted from trash

Other

Recording tab

Telephone tab