Enabling authentication to view cloud recordings

Last Updated:

Authentication allows hosts to restrict participants who can view a cloud recording to those who are signed in to Zoom, and even restrict it to Zoom users whose email addresses use a certain domain.

If a viewer tries to watch the recording and does not meet the defined authentication criteria, such as not being signed in with the correct email domain or not on the account, they will receive the following message: You cannot view this recording. No permission.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for enabling authentication to view cloud recordings

  • Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
  • Licensed user
  • Cloud Recording enabled

How to enable users to authenticate to view cloud recordings

Account

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Recording tab.
  4. Click the Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
  7. By Authentication Options, click + Add Option to add any authentication method.

Group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Groups.
  3. Click the desired user group or create a new group.
  4. Click the Recording tab.
  5. Click the Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
  8. By Authentication Options, click Edit or Hide in the Selection to change the name or hide the option as desired.

User

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. Click the Recording tab.
  4. Click the Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. By Authentication Options, click Edit or Hide in the Selection to change the name or hide the option as desired.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the account or group level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.

How to enable authentication for users to view a specific cloud recording

Account

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Recording Management.
  3. To the right of the desired recording name, click Share.
  4. In the Share this cloud recording pop-up window, under Share this recording, click the Only authenticated users can view toggle to enable it.
  5. In the dropdown menu, select the authenticated users who can view your cloud recording.
  6. Click the following toggles to enable or disable them:
    • Add expiry date to the link

    • Viewers can download

    • Viewers can see transcript

    • View recording on demand (registration required)
      Note
      : Users must register before watching this recording.

    • Passcode protection

  7. By Sharing Information, click Show or Hide to show or hide the recording's information that will be shared. You can also Copy Sharing Information.
  8. Click Done.

User

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Recordings.
  3. Click the Cloud Recordings tab
  4. Click the name of the desired recording.
  5. Click Share.
  6. In the Share this cloud recording pop-up window, under Share this recording, click the Only authenticated users can view toggle to enable it.
  7. In the dropdown menu, select the authenticated users who can view your cloud recording.
  8. Click the following toggles to enable or disable them:
    • Add expiry date to the link

    • Viewers can download

    • Viewers can see transcript

    • View recording on demand (registration required)
      Note
      : Users must register before watching this recording.

    • Passcode protection

  9. By Sharing Information, click Show or Hide to show or hide the recording's information that will be shared. You can also Copy Sharing Information.
  10. Click Done.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.