A shared line group allows your Zoom Phone admin to share a phone number and extension (shared line) with a group of phone users or common area phones.
The following terms are used in this article:
- Members are added to the shared line group by your Zoom Phone admin. Each member can only belong to one shared line group.
- Shared lines are direct phone numbers that are assigned to the shared line group and shared among its members.
If you're a member of a shared line group, follow this article to use your shared line group on a supported desk phone.
This article covers:
- Selecting a shared line and making a call
- Identifying a shared line being used
- Receiving a call
- Transferring a call
- Viewing call history
- Viewing the voicemail inbox
- Zoom Phone license and calling plan
- Supported desk phone
- Member of a shared line group
- You can only belong to one shared line group. You can't belong to a call delegation setup and shared line group at the same time.
- View your shared line group name to see if you're a member of a shared line group.
Selecting a shared line and making a call
Before making a call, you can select a shared line to use for the call. The line you select determines your outbound caller ID number.
Note: Unlike the Zoom Desktop Client and Mobile App, shared lines are not labelled with the shared line group's name. To help you identify shared lines, customize your line key settings.
Identifying a shared line being used
All members will be able to see when a shared line is being used by another member.
Note: Unlike the Zoom Desktop Client and Mobile App, desk phones don't display the name of the member using the shared line.
On your phone, look for the following indicators that the shared line is being used by a member:
Polycom VVX series with a touch screen
Polycom VVX series with physical line keys
In addition to the icon below, the indicator light for the line key will be solid red.
Yealink T4 or T5 series with a touch screen
Look for the following icon along with the label Talking.
Receiving a call
If someone calls a shared line, the call notification will display the shared line group's name and the shared line that is receiving the call.
Transferring a call
After answering a call for a shared line group, you can transfer the call to another member, phone user, or external number.
Note: Desk phones do not support the contacts directory. When transferring using a desk phone, you need to dial the internal extension number or external direct number. Alternatively, you can flip the call to the Zoom Desktop Client or Mobile App, then transfer the call by using your contacts directory.
Viewing call history
Members can view all call history for the shared lines. If a member deletes a call history entry related to a shared line, the entry will only be deleted for the member that made the deletion.
Call history entries are labelled as follows:
- Inbound call history entries are labelled with your shared line group's name and associated shared line.
- Outbound call history entries are labelled with your shared line group's associated shared line. You can customize your line key settings to make it easier to identify shared lines. Some phones will require you to view call log details to see the associated shared line.
Viewing the voicemail inbox
All members can play and manage voicemail messages left for shared lines. Take note of the following when managing voicemails for shared line groups:
- If a member deletes a voicemail message, the message will be deleted for all other members.
- If a member plays an unplayed voicemail message, the message will show as played for all other members.
- Voicemails are labelled with your shared line group's name and associated shared line.
Note: Your Zoom Phone admin can revoke your access to a shared line group's voicemail inbox while keeping you a member of the shared line group. If you don't see the shared line group's voicemails, contact your Zoom Phone admin.