Important Notice: Please update all of your Zoom applications to version 5.0 or higher. After May 30, 2020, all Zoom applications on older versions will receive a forced upgrade when trying to join meetings as GCM Encryption will be fully enabled across the Zoom platform. Learn more on how to update your Zoom application or update now.

Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.



Using shared line groups (desktop client or mobile app) Follow

Overview

A shared line group allows your Zoom Phone admin to share a phone number and extension (shared line) with a group of phone users or common area phones.

The following terms are used in this article:

  • Members are added to the shared line group by your Zoom Phone admin. Each member can only belong to one shared line group.
  • Shared lines are direct phone numbers that are assigned to the shared line group and shared among its members.

If you're a member of a shared line group, follow this article to use your shared line group in the Zoom Desktop Client or Mobile App.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Zoom Phone license and calling plan
  • Member of a shared line group
    Note
    • You can only belong to one shared line group. You can't belong to a call delegation setup and shared line group at the same time.
    • View your shared line group name to see if you're a member of a shared line group.
  • Zoom Desktop Client
    • Windows: 4.6.4 (17383.0119) or higher
    • macOS: 4.6.4 (17383.0119) or higher
  • Zoom Mobile App
    • Android: 4.6.4 (17397.0119) or higher
    • iOS: 4.6.4 (17387.0119) or higher

Viewing your shared line group name

You can only belong to one share line group. To view your shared line group's name:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client or mobile client.
  2. Click or tap Phone.
  3. Click or tap the Lines tab.
    Your shared line group is display under SHARED GROUP.

You can also view your shared line group's name in the web portal.

Selecting a shared line and making a call

Before making a call, you can select a shared line to use for the call.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client or mobile client.
  2. Click or tap Phone.
  3. Click or tap Caller ID menu below the dial pad. Shared lines are labelled (shared) and have the shared line group's name above the number.
    Note: The caller ID you select will be your outbound caller ID number.
  4. Make a call from the shared line group.

Viewing status of a shared line

All members will be able to see when another member is on a call using a shared line.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client or mobile client.
  2. Click or tap Phone.
  3. Click or tap the Lines tab.
    Your shared line group is display under SHARED GROUP. You will see the member's profile name and the caller ID number of the other party on the call.
    Note: If your shared line group has multiple direct phones, you can't view the direct number that's being used.

Receiving a call

Note: Make sure you enable shared line group call notifications in your Zoom Phone settings (located in the desktop client or mobile app or web portal).

If someone calls a shared line, the call notification will display the shared line group's name below For.

 

Transferring a call

After answering a call for a shared line group, you can transfer the call to another member, phone user, or external number.

Viewing call history

Members can view all call history for the shared lines. If a member deletes a call history entry related to a shared line, the entry will only be deleted for the member that made the deletion.

Call history entries are labelled with your shared line group's name so you can easily identify call history.

Note: This label is not displayed when viewing call history in the web portal or desk phone.

Viewing call recordings

If a member records a call that used a shared line, only the member that performed the recording can play or manage the recording. All other members can only view the call history entry associated with the recording. To allow other members to view your recordings, inform your Zoom Phone admin to share your call recordings.

Call recordings are labelled with your shared line group's name so you can easily identify recordings.

Note: This label is not displayed when viewing call history in the web portal.

Viewing the voicemail inbox

By default, all members can play and manage voicemail messages left for shared lines. Take note of the following when managing voicemails for your shared line group:

  • If a member deletes a voicemail message, the message will be deleted for all other members.
  • If a member plays an unplayed voicemail message, the message will show as played for all other members.
  • Voicemails are labelled with your shared line group's name so you can easily identify voicemails.

Note: Your Zoom Phone admin can revoke your access to a shared line group's voicemail inbox while keeping you a member of the shared line group. If you don't see the shared line group's voicemails, contact your Zoom Phone admin.