Overview

On April 4, 2020, Zoom will enable the Waiting Room feature and require additional password settings for all Basic users on free accounts and accounts with a single licensed user, including K-12 education accounts who have the 40-minute limit temporarily waived. The new password requirements apply to both meetings and webinars.

Zoom is enabling the password setting: require a password for Personal Meeting ID (PMI). Zoom will also be enabling the following password settings which are on by default, but previously could have been disabled:

  • Require a password when scheduling new meetings (which also applies to webinars)
  • Require a password for instant meetings
  • Require password for participants joining by phone

These settings are designed to prevent unwanted participants from joining your meeting or webinar. For free accounts, including free K-12 education accounts, and accounts with a single licensed user, the settings will be locked and cannot be turned off. This change will impact your meetings and webinars differently depending on when it was scheduled, how it was scheduled, if it uses your PMI:

  • For previously scheduled meetings with your PMI, participants will be required to enter a password when they join or they will need to be resent the meeting link with the newly embedded password. This password and updated invitation can be found in your Zoom web portal under Meetings, then Personal Meeting Room.
  • For previously scheduled meetings or webinars with a unique one-time meeting ID, there is no need to enter a password when joining or resend the invitation. These meetings and webinars will not be impacted.
  • For meetings previously scheduled with a calendar integration, you will need to resend the invitation or share the password with the participants. Invitations will not be automatically updated.
  • All newly scheduled meetings and webinars, regardless of using PMI or a one-time meeting ID, will require a password by default. This password will be included in the invitation. If a participant manually enters the meeting/webinar ID, they will be prompted to enter the password.

Manually entering a meeting/webinar ID will always prompt the user to enter the password. By default, Zoom embeds the password into meeting/webinar links, but you can disable this setting at the account, group, or user level by turning off the setting Embed password in meeting link for one-click join.

Zoom is also enabling the Waiting Room feature by default. Waiting Room allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. Waiting Room is one of the best ways to control who’s entering your Zoom meeting by giving you the option to admit participants individually or all at once. We highly recommend using this feature to secure your meetings and prevent unwanted participants if a link is shared outside of the intended participants. Learn more about Waiting Room. 

If you do not want to use Waiting Room, you can disable it for your own meetings, an individual group on your account, or the entire account. Waiting Room can also be enabled or disabled at the time of scheduling and during a meeting. This change will not impact any of your previously scheduled meetings.

This article covers:

Finding the meeting or webinar password

For scheduled meetings and webinars, the password will be in the invitation, whether scheduled in the Zoom client, in the web portal, or with a calendar integration. For instant meetings, the password will be displayed in the Zoom Client or on the Zoom Rooms Controller. The password is also included in the join URL.

In the Zoom client

In the invitation

Resending the invitation

To resend the meeting invitation, click Copy Invitation in your Zoom desktop client in the Meetings tab. You can also click Copy the Invitation on the Meeting or Webinar detail page of the Zoom web portal. In the navigation panel, click Meetings or Webinars, then click the topic of the meeting/webinar you need to resend the invitation for. Click Copy the Invitation.

 

Disabling Waiting Room

Account

To disable Waiting Room for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Navigate to the Waiting Room option on the Meeting tab and click the toggle to disable Waiting Room.

Group

To disable Waiting Room for all members of a specific group:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the Group Name, then click the Settings tab.
  4. On the Meeting tab, navigate to the Waiting Room option under In-Meeting (Advanced) and click the toggle to disable Waiting Room.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the Account level, and needs to be changed at that level.tab and click the toggle to disable Waiting Room.

User

To disable Waiting Room for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Settings.
  3. On the Meeting tab, navigate to the Waiting Room option under In-Meeting (Advanced) and click the toggle to disable Waiting Room.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the Group or Account level, and you will need to contact your Zoom administrator.

To disable Waiting Room for your PMI:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal and navigate to Meetings.
  2. Click Personal Meeting Room.
  3. Click Edit this Meeting.
  4. Uncheck the option Enable waiting room.
  5. Click Save.