Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.



In-meeting security options Follow

Overview

The Security icon in the meeting controls allows the host or co-host of a meeting to enable or disable options during a meeting to secure the meeting and minimize disruption during the meeting. Most of the settings can be controlled from Account, Group, and User settings prior to the meeting. If applied at the Account, Group, or User level, these settings will be applied in meeting by default. The Security icon combines them all in one place for easy access during the meeting. 

If the options are enabled/disabled and locked by an account admin, they will not be modifiable in-meeting by the host or co-host. 

Available security settings are:

  • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
  • Enable Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for incoming new participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
  • Allow participants to:
    • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares 
    • Chat: Allows participants to use the chat function.
    • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
    • Unmute Themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission. 
    • Annotate on Shared Content: Allows participants to annotate over content shared during the meeting. The host can enable or disable annotation when the host is sharing. 
  • Remove Participant: Allows the removal of a participant from a meeting. The participant can not re-join unless Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled in Meeting settings.
  • Report: Allows you to report a user to Zoom's Trust and Safety team. You will be able to select which user to report and provide details about the problem. You can also upload evidence, such as screenshots. 

Prerequisites

  • Zoom Desktop Client
    • Windows: 4.6.10 (20033.0407) or higher
    • macOS: 4.6.10 (20041.0408) or higher
    • Linux: 3.5.383291.0407 or higher
    • Chrome OS: 3.6.5 (4111.0413) or higher
  • Zoom Mobile App
    • Android: 4.6.20000.0407 or higher
    • iOS: 4.6.10 (20012.0407) or higher
  • Zoom web client
  • Must be host or co-host in meeting

Instructions

  1. Start a Zoom meeting
  2. Click Security.
  3. The following settings can be enabled from the menu: 
    • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
    • Enable Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for incoming new participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
    • Allow participants to:
      • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares 
      • Chat: Allows participants to use the chat function.
      • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
      • Unmute Themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission. 
      • Annotate on Shared Content: Allows participants to annotate over content shared during the meeting. The host can enable or disable annotation when the host is sharing. 
    • Remove Participant: Allows the removal of a participant from a meeting. The participant can not re-join unless Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled in Meeting settings.
    • Report: Allows you to report a user to Zoom's Trust and Safety team. You will be able to select which user to report and provide details about the problem. You can also upload evidence, such as screenshots. 
  1. Start a Zoom meeting.
  2. Tap More in the Meeting Controls. 
  3. Tap Meeting Settings.
  4. Under Security, the following settings can be enabled from the menu:
    • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
    • Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for new incoming participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
    • Allow participants to:
      • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares.
      • Chat with: Allows participants to use the chat function.
      • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
      • Unmute Themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission. 

        Note: The ability to Report users can be found under the Participants option in the meeting. This allows you to report a user to Zoom's Trust and Safety team. You will be able to select which user to report and provide details about the problem. You can also upload evidence, such as screenshots. 

Webinars

When hosting webinars, the Security menu will have a similar set of options:

  • Lock Webinar: Locks the webinar, keeping new participants from joining the webinar.
  • Allow Panelists to:
    • Share Screen: Allows panelists to start Screen Shares.
    • Start Video: Allows panelists to start their video during the webinar. 
    • Rename Themselves: Allows panelists to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
    • Annotate: Allows panelists to annotate over screen shares. 
  • Allow Attendees to:
    • Raise Hand: Allows attendees to use the raise hand function during a webinar. 
    • Chat With: Allows attendees to use the chat function, as well as set who they can chat with. 

    Note
    : The ability to Report users can be found under the Participants option in the meeting. This allows you to report a user to Zoom's Trust and Safety team. You will be able to select which user to report and provide details about the problem. You can also upload evidence, such as screenshots. 

Meetings

  1. Start a Zoom meeting.
  2. Tap More in the Meeting Controls. 
  3. Tap Meeting Settings.
  4. Under Security, the following settings can be enabled from the menu:
    • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
    • Enable Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for new incoming participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
    • Allow participants to:
      • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares.
      • Chat: Allows participants to use the chat function.
      • Chat with: Allows the host to set who participants can chat with during the meeting. 
      • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
      • Annotate: Allows panelists to annotate over screen shares.

    Note: The ability to Report users can be found under the Participants option in the meeting. This allows you to report a user to Zoom's Trust and Safety team. You will be able to select which user to report and provide details about the problem. You can also upload evidence, such as screenshots. 
  1. Start a Zoom meeting
  2. Click Security.
  3. The following settings can be enabled from the menu: 
    • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
    • Enable Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for new incoming participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
    • Allow participants to:
      • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares 
      • Chat: Allows participants to use the chat function.
      • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
      • Unmute Themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission. 
      • Annotate on Shared Content: Allows participants to annotate over content shared during the meeting. 
    • Remove Participant: Allows the removal of a participant from a meeting. The participant can not re-join unless Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled in Meeting settings.
  1. Start a Zoom meeting
  2. Click Security.
  3. The following settings can be enabled from the menu: 
    • Lock Meeting: Locks the meeting, keeping new participants from joining the meeting.
    • Enable Waiting Room: Enables Waiting Room for incoming new participants or to move current participants into the Waiting Room.
    • Allow participants to:
      • Share Screen: Allows participants to start Screen Shares 
      • Chat: Allows participants to use the chat function.
      • Rename Themselves: Allows participants to rename themselves from the Participants panel.
      • Unmute Themselves: Allows participants to unmute themselves without the host's permission. 
    • Remove Participant: Allows the removal of a participant from a meeting. The participant can not re-join unless Allow removed participants to rejoin is enabled in Meeting settings.