Zoom’s Meeting and Webinar Archiving solution allow account administrators to set up an automated mechanism to collect and archive meeting data to a 3rd party platform of their choice and hence, satisfy FINRA and/ or other compliance requirements. Only account administrators can manage what data is archived, what is displayed in the disclaimer, and enable archiving for specific groups as well.
Data that can be archived includes:
- In-meeting video and audio
- Screen shared content including whiteboards
- In-meeting chat, public and private
- Closed captioning and/or live transcription
- Meeting or Webinar metadata
This article covers:
- Types of Archiving notifications
- Managing archiving for an account
Prerequisites for setting up archiving meeting and webinars
- The Meeting Archiving feature enabled for your account by Zoom Support
- A third-party archiving solution which is available as a corresponding marketplace application
- Zoom desktop client
- Windows: 5.6.0 or higher
- macOS: 5.6.0 or higher
- Linux: 5.6.0 or higher
- Zoom mobile app
- Android: 5.6.0 or higher
- iOS: 5.6.0 or higher
- VDI Client: 3.3.2 or higher
- Web Client
- Zoom Rooms for Conference Room
- PC: 5.7.0 or higher
- macOS: 5.7.0 or higher
- Zoom Rooms Controller
- Android: 5.7.0 or higher
- iOS: 5.7.0 or higher
Types of archiving notifications
When a meeting is being archived, the participants in the meeting are notified regarding the same. These indicators are of three types, mainly:
- In-meeting archiving tooltip
- One-time on-screen notification for audio/video
- Archiving notification for in-meeting chat
In-meeting archiving tooltip
The archiving badge is present when any one or all of the artifacts (video/audio/meeting chat/captions/transcripts) are being archived.
Upon clicking the disclaimer icon, you can view the types of artifacts being captured and archived for that particular meeting. This can be customized by an account admin as well.
In-meeting on-screen disclaimer for audio and video
Note: If in-meeting chat is the only item marked for archiving, then users will not see the audio and video archiving disclaimer when joining a meeting.
This message appears when a participant joins a meeting where archiving is already in progress or when a regulated user joins a meeting. Once prompted, the participant will need to consent to have their meeting data archived. Alternatively, the participant will have the option to leave the meeting as well.
If the account administrator has selected a voice prompt, then apart from the notification message, the user joining the meeting will receive a voice prompt mentioning that the meeting is being archived.
In-meeting chat notification
If in-meeting chat is being archived for a meeting then users will be able to view that message by clicking the Chat icon (if enabled) in the meeting.
Note: If in-meeting chat is the only item marked for archiving, then users will not see the audio and video archiving disclaimer when joining a meeting and will only see the above notification when opening the chat window.
Managing archiving for an account
Archiving can be configured for an account or user group, allowing administrators the ability to add information including terms and conditions for the organization, or more information including what the organization is archiving.