Note: As our world comes together to slow the spread of COVID-19 pandemic, the Zoom Support Center has continued to operate 24x7 globally to support you. Please see the updated Support Guidelines during these unprecedented times.



Creating a custom disclaimer Follow

Overview

Admins can show a disclaimer when users start or join a meeting (desktop client, mobile app, or web client), or sign in to the web portal. Users must agree to the disclaimer to start or join a meeting, or sign in to the web portal. If they click Cancel in the disclaimer, they will not join or start the meeting, or sign in to the web portal.

This article covers:

Prerequisites

  • Account owner or admin privileges
  • Free with Credit Card, Pro, Business, Education, Enterprise, or API Partner Account
  • To see the disclaimer for meetings, users must join or start a meeting using the desktop client, mobile app, or web client.
  • To see the disclaimer for the web portal, internal users must sign in to the Zoom web portal.

Enabling the disclaimer for meetings

Account

To enable for all users in the account:
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation panel, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meetings tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Advanced), verify that Show a custom disclaimer when starting or joining a meeting is enabled.
  5. If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, click Turn On to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

To enable for a group of users:
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation panel, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list, then click the Meetings tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Advanced), verify that Show a custom disclaimer when starting or joining a meeting is enabled.
  5. If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, click Turn On to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Setting up and customizing the disclaimer for meetings

  1. Make sure the disclaimer is enabled.
  2. Click Manage Disclaimer.
  3. Change these settings:
    • Display For: Specify if the disclaimer is displayed to internal or external users. You must select at least one option.
      • Internal participants: Display the disclaimer to internal users that start or join meetings.
      • External participants: Display the disclaimer to external users that join meetings hosted by internal users.
      • Show the same disclaimer to internal and external users?: If you selected both of the above options, you can use one declaimer for both user types or have separate disclaimers.
    • Frequency: Specify how often the disclaimer is shown. 
      • Every time: Show the disclaimer every time users join or start a meeting, regardless of whether they click Allow or Agree.
      • First time only: Show the disclaimer until they click Allow (desktop client) or Agree (mobile app). If they click Cancel, they will see the same disclaimer the next time they join or start a meeting.
        Note:
        • This applies to internal and external users depending on the Display For setting.
        • If you enabled the disclaimer for external users and they clicked Allow or Agree, they will not see the disclaimer again the next time they join a meeting hosted by an internal user.
      • Every month, Every quarter, Every 6 months, Every year: After a user accepts the disclaimer, repeat the disclaimer in the specified interval.
    • Languages: If you have translated versions of the disclaimer, select the relevant languages. 
  4. Click Next.
  5. Enter the title and description of the disclaimer. Click Preview to see how the declaimer is displayed in the desktop client.
    Note: The disclaimer in the desktop client will always state, This disclaimer was generated by your account admin.
  6. Click Save.

Enabling the disclaimer for the web portal

You can also enable a disclaimer that displays when internal users sign in to the Zoom web portal. You can only enable this at the account level.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation panel, click Advanced then Security.
  3. In the Sign-in Methods section, verify that Show disclaimer when users sign in to Zoom is enabled.
  4. If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it.

Setting up and customizing the disclaimer for the web portal

  1. Make sure the disclaimer is enabled.
  2. Click Manage Disclaimer.
  3. Change these settings:
    • Frequency: Specify how often the disclaimer is shown. 
      • Every time: Show the disclaimer every time users sign in to the web portal, regardless of whether they click Agree.
      • First time only: Show the disclaimer until they click Agree. If they click Cancel, they will see the same disclaimer the next time they sign in to the web portal.
      • Every month, Every quarter, Every 6 months, Every year: After a user accepts the disclaimer, repeat the disclaimer in the specified interval.
    • Languages: If you have translated versions of the disclaimer, select the relevant languages. 
  4. Click Next.
  5. Enter the title and description of the disclaimer. Click Preview to see how the declaimer is displayed in the web portal.
    Note: The disclaimer will always state, This disclaimer was generated by your account admin.
  6. Click Save.