Enabling auto saving chats

Last Updated:

Enabling Auto saving chats allows meeting hosts and webinar hosts/panelists to automatically save a copy of their in-meeting and in-webinar chats on their computer, so they don't need to manually save the text of the chat after the meeting or webinar starts. Learn more about saving in-meeting chat.

This chat transcript contains all messages that you were able to see from your connection to the meeting. This includes any private messages that you sent or were sent to you, but does not include private messages between other participants. 

Note: In-meeting/webinar chats will not be saved if you start your meeting or webinar from the Zoom mobile app.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for auto-saving chats

  • A Zoom account
  • Account owner or admin privileges

Enabling/disabling auto-saving chats

Account

To enable or disable Auto saving chats for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Auto saving chats toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups.

To enable or disable Auto saving chats for a group of users:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Auto saving chats toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

To enable or disable Auto saving chats for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation panel, click Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Auto saving chats toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level and needs to be changed at that level.

Zoom Community

Join the 83K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.