Requiring users to update Zoom

Last Updated:

Account owners and admins can require users with older versions of the Zoom desktop client or mobile app to update to the specified minimum client versions. This can be applied to only internal users or to include external meeting participants, as well as configured at the group level for granular version requirements across different groups.

You can access the Dashboard to view the percentage of users on each version of the client or app.

This setting is enforced when users try to sign in or start a meeting/webinar. Users will be prompted to  update to the specified version before they can sign in or start the meeting/webinar.

Prerequisites for requiring a specific version 

  • Account owner or admin privileges
  • Free with Credit Card, Pro, Business, Education, Enterprise, or API Partner Account
  • For the setting to be enforced, users must be using the Zoom desktop client or mobile app on Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, or VDI.

Account

To require all users to update the client or app:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation panel, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under Admin Options, verify that Require users to update the client is enabled.
  5. Specify the required minimum version for each client or app.
  6. If the setting is disabled, click the toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in your account, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, the Group Management page has been renamed to Groups.

To require a group of users to update the client or app:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation panel, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under Other, click the Require users to update the client toggle to enable or disable it. 
  6. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. Specify the required minimum version for each client or app.
  8. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.