Join the 70K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.

Join the Community

For questions about the class action settlement, please visit www.ZoomMeetingsClassAction.com

Allowing participants to rename themselves Follow

Controls for host and co-host allows for participants, meeting and webinar panelist to rename themselves.

Note: If display names are mapped with SAML mapping, and participants are not allowed to rename themselves, they will be prevented from changing their display name when joining a meeting. This feature requires client or app version 5.8.3 or higher. 

This article covers: 

Prerequisites for allowing participants to rename themselves

  • Free account and above
  • Owner and admin privileges 

Account

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. From the navigation panel, select Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. To enable Allow participants to rename themselves, click the toggle. In the Enable "Allow participants to rename themselves" popup window, click Enable
  5. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all members of the entire account, click the lock icon and in the Lock "Allow participants to rename themselves" pop-up window, click Lock.

Group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. From the navigation panel, select User Management then Group Management.
  3. Select the desired group.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. To enable Allow participants to rename themselves, click the toggle. In the Enable "Allow participants to rename themselves" popup window, click Enable
  6. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all members of the group, click the lock icon and in the Lock "Allow participants to rename themselves" pop-up window, click Lock .

User

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. From the navigation panel, select Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. To enable Allow participants to rename themselves, click the toggle. 
    Note: If Host video is disabled and locked,  contact your account administrator.