The Zoom Community is here!
We welcome all Zoom customers to come together on the Zoom Community to ask questions, find solutions,
and collaborate with peers. Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating!

Enabling or disabling privacy mode for shared lines Follow

Account owners and admins can enable a privacy feature for shared line groups or shared line appearance (call delegation). This allows shared line group and shared line appearance members to lock the call, which prevents others from picking up a held call, listening, whispering, barging, or taking over the call.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for enabling or disabling privacy mode

Note: Phone users must have the Zoom desktop client or mobile app, 5.7.6 or higher to enable privacy mode (lock the call). This feature is not supported on desk phones.

How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line groups

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Phone System Management then Shared Lines.
  3. Click the Shared Line Groups tab.
  4. Click a shared line group's name.
  5. Next to Privacy, select the check box to allow members to lock the call while in a call.
    Locking the call will prevent the following: 

How to enable or disable privacy mode for shared line appearance (call delegation)

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Phone System Management then Shared Lines.
  3. Click the Shared Lines Appearance tab.
  4. Click Details to next to a call delegation setup.
  5. Next to Privacy, select the check box to allow the delegator to lock the call while in a call.
    Locking the call will prevent other phone users from picking up a held call if the delegator places the call on hold.