Join the 70K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.

Join the Community

For questions about the class action settlement, please visit www.ZoomMeetingsClassAction.com

Restrict in-meeting features for users joining meetings Follow

Normal meeting settings allow admins and users to restrict which in-meeting features are available when joining an internal meeting. However, administrators can also restrict which in-meeting features are available when a user joins an external meeting as well. These include restricting users on the account from transferring files, sharing their screen, using/viewing in-meeting chat, adding annotations during a screen share, sharing a whiteboard, recording a meeting, viewing/typing closed captions, and more.  Once enabled, the policy will follow the user no matter the device the user logs into Zoom with, to join or host meetings. 

Prerequisites for restricting in-meeting features when joining meetings

  • Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
  • Account owner or admin privileges
  • The setting must be enabled by Zoom Support
  • Zoom desktop client
    • Windows: 5.8.3 or higher
    • macOS: 5.8.3 or higher
    • Linux: 5.8.3 or higher
  • Zoom mobile app
    • Android: 5.8.3 or higher
    • IOS: 5.8.3 or higher
  • VDI Client: 5.8.3 or higher
  • Zoom web client

Restricting external in-meeting features at the Account level

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Advanced), navigate to Restrict users from using selected features when they join a meeting.
  5. Click Select Features to Restrict.
  6. Select the check box next to the feature you want to restrict:
  7. Under Restrict use of this feature in, select when the feature restriction should be applied:
    • All Meetings- Disables the feature when users join an internal or external meeting.
    • External Meetings only- Disables the feature when a user joins External meetings.
      Note: Internal meeting settings will still be applied when joining internal meetings.
  8. Under Locked, click the  unlocked-button.png, to lock the feature restriction.
    Note: If the restriction is set to All Meetings, and the restriction is locked, this will override any in-meeting settings set at the User, Group, or Account level.
  9. Click Save.

Restricting external in-meeting features at the Group level

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under In Meeting (Advanced), navigate to Restrict users from using selected features when they join a meeting.
  6. Click Select Features to Restrict.
  7. Select the check box next to the feature you want to restrict:
  8. Under Restrict use of this feature in, select when the feature restriction should be applied:
    • All Meetings- Disables the feature when users join an internal or external meeting.
    • External Meetings only- Disables the feature when a user joins External meetings.
      Note: Internal meeting settings will still be applied when joining internal meetings.
  9. Under Locked, click the unlocked-button.png, to lock the feature restriction.
    Note: If the restriction is set to All Meetings, and the restriction is locked, this will override any in-meeting settings set at the User level.
  10. Click Save.