Join the 70K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.

Join the Community

For questions about the class action settlement, please visit www.ZoomMeetingsClassAction.com

Allowing Apps access to shared access permissions Follow

When users on an account are given shared access to other user information, such as having scheduling privilege or being given an admin or other custom role, it is also possible that these Marketplace apps may also need the same expanded set of permissions to act on behalf of another user. To ensure you are aware of this access and how you are allowing it, we are adding a new permissions type for this, so that you can control your and other users’ information and privacy.

The article contains:

Prerequisites

Granting shared access permissions for Apps you install:

  • A Zoom account

Reviewing shared access permissions for all Apps on your account:

  • Account owner, admin, or user with a custom role with view and edit access to Marketplace

How to grant Shared Access Permissions during app authorization

When installing an App and authorizing the App developer access to information associated with you, if the App can utilize additional information that has been delegated to you by other users, there will be an additional option you can enable to grant the App developer access to that expanded information.

  1. After installing the App, you will need to authorize the app’s data access permissions.
  2. Select the check box next to Allow this app to use my shared access permissions to allow the expanded permissions.
  3. Click Authorize to finalize the installation.

How to review permissions for Apps you’ve installed

If you’ve already installed some Marketplace Apps and want to review and update their use of shared access permissions, you can do so from the individual Marketplace App pages, or all together on the Installed Apps page.

For an individual Marketplace App

  1. Sign in to your Zoom account and open the App Marketplace.
  2. Search for the app you installed and open that specific Marketplace page.
  3. Scroll down to the Manage section and click Update Permissions.
  4. A popup will appear to authorize shared access permissions to the app and adjust shared access permissions.
    1. If you have not yet allowed for shared access permissions, select the check box next to Allow this app to use my shared access permissions to allow the expanded permissions, and click Authorize.
    2. If you have already allowed for shared access permissions and want to revoke this access, click Revoke Shared Access Permissions.

For all installed Marketplace Apps

  1. Sign in to your Zoom account and open the App Marketplace.
  2. Click Manage.
  3. On the left-side navigation menu, select Installed Apps. Each App you have installed will be listed.
  4. In the Shared Access Permissions column, each App’s access status is listed. Click Update to allow or revoke those permissions.
    1. If you have not yet allowed for shared access permissions, select the check box next to Allow this app to use my shared access permissions to allow the expanded permissions, and click Authorize.
    2. If you have already allowed for shared access permissions and want to revoke this access, click Revoke Shared Access Permissions.

How to review permissions for all Apps on your account

As the account owner, an admin, or user with a custom role with admin-access to the Marketplace, you can review all of the Marketplace Apps installed by users on your account and see what type of permissions each app has been given access to.

  1. Sign in to your Zoom account and open the App Marketplace.
  2. Click Manage.
  3. On the left-side navigation menu, select Apps on Account. This page will list all apps installed by users on your account.
  4. Click on any listed app.
  5. On the Current Subscribers tab, each user that has installed this App will be listed. The Permission Type column will list the type of permission this app has for each user.

Permission types

Each app is granted one of three types of data access permissions. These control how much user and account data each Marketplace App has access to for each user that has it installed.

  • User: The App only has access to information associated with the user that installed the App. This may include profile information, scheduled and hosted meetings, settings, cloud recordings, and reports, some of which may include others who are included in that information, such as other participants included in that installing user's cloud recording.
  • User with Shared Access: The App has access to information associated with the user that installed the App, as well as the information associated with any users that have delegated additional access to the installing user. This may include profile information, scheduled and hosted meetings, settings, cloud recordings, and reports, some of which may include others who are included in that information, such as other participants included in that installing user's cloud recording.
  • Admin: The App has access to information associated with the user that installed the App, as well as account-level data, such as profile information of users on the account, account settings, cloud recordings, and reports, some of which may include others who are included in that information, such as other participants included in that installing user's cloud recording.

Frequently asked questions

Will I have to re-authorize every app and integration I’ve installed?

No, not all apps are designed for accessing that type of information, so not every app will need to ask for access to shared access permissions.

Can I authorize shared access permissions for all apps at once?

No, each app must be given explicit permission to access the expanded user information you’ve been delegated. There will be an option provided during the authorization process to grant the app this expanded access. You can also review all your installed Apps at once to quickly review and grant permissions. Please refer to the sections above for more details.

How do I check and adjust each of my installed app’s permissions?

You can check and update the permissions of all your installed apps through the Installed Apps page on the Marketplace. Please refer to the sections above for more details.

As an Admin, can I review all my users’ Shared Access permissions?

Yes, admins can view the type of permissions each app has for each user that has it installed on their account. Admins will see either User (the app only has access to that the information associated with that user), User with Shared Access (the app has access to the information associated with that user and any other users that have delegated access to that user), or Admin (access to account level data). Please refer to the Permission Types section for more details.

What does each app do with other users’ data? How do they handle and store that data?

Each app has its own permissions scope and privacy policies, which are available on every Apps’ Marketplace page. We encourage admins to review these during the pre-approval process, as well as each user when installing the app for use. For more information about the pre-approval process, please refer to the Marketplace admin guide.

As an App developer, do I need to change anything in my integration?

No, there are currently no changes needed to be made in your integration or permissions scope. Please refer to the Developer API reference guide for more information.