Changing Zoom Contact Center queue settings

Last Updated:

After creating a queue, you can change queue settings like adding members and selecting the distribution method.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for changing queue settings

How to change call queue settings

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Contact Center Management then Queues.
  3. Click the display name of the queue you want to edit.

Profile tab

You can change these settings in the Profile tab:

Assigned Users section

  • Agents: Click Manage to view current members of the queue or add members.
  • Supervisors: Click Add or Manage to view or add supervisors. Supervisors have access to some management features.

Note: You can assign up to 2,000 users to each queue.

Inbound Queue Preferences section

  • Channel Type: Displays the channel type for the queue. This corresponds to the flow trigger type that can contain this queue. Click Edit to change the channel type.
  • Max Engagement in Queue: Click Edit to change the maximum number of calls allowed in the queue, then click Save. When the maximum is exceeded, callers will be routed based on the Overflow option below.
  • Distribution: Select a method to distribute incoming engagements.
  • Consumer Routing: Click Add or Manage to select or change the associated consumer routing profile.
  • Agent Routing: Click Add or Manage to select or change the associated agent routing profile.
  • Max Wait Duration: Click Edit to change the maximum wait time allowed in the queue, then click Save. When the maximum is exceeded, callers will be routed based on the Overflow option below.
    Note: You can set a max wait duration of up to 12 hours. If this the max wait duration is disabled, consumer can remain in the queue for up to 24 hours.
  • Overflow: Click Edit then select one of the following routing options when the Max Wait Time or Max Engagements in Queue is exceeded.
    • Leave Voicemail: Select an inbox to route to, then click Confirm.
    • Route to Queue: Select a queue to route to, then click Confirm. You can only route to a queue that's in the same channel as the current queue. For example, if editing a voice queue, you can only overflow to another voice queue.
    • Route to Flow: Select a flow to route to, then click Confirm. You can only route to a flow that's in the same channel as the current queue. For example, if editing a voice queue, you can only overflow to a voice flow.
  • Media While Connecting (only available if the Channel Type is Voice): The audio file name that plays before routing the caller to the next available member based on the call distribution method. Click the play icon to play the current audio file. To change the audio, click Edit then select one of these options:
    • Add Audio: Select, record, or upload custom audio.
    • Choose from Assets Library: Select audio from the asset library.
  • Interrupt (only available if the Channel Type is Voice): Add multiple messages that interrupt the audio set as the Media While Connecting.
  • Media for Transferring (only available if the Channel Type is Voice): The audio file name that plays while routing the caller to the next available member based on the call distribution method. Click Edit then select one of these options:
    • Add Audio: Select, record, or upload custom audio.
    • Choose from Assets Library: Select audio from the asset library.
  • Media while on Hold (only available if the Channel Type is Voice): The audio file name that plays when a caller is placed on hold by a queue member. Click Edit then select one of these options:
    • Add Audio: Select, record, or upload custom audio.
    • Choose from Assets Library: Select audio from the asset library.
  • DispositionsAdd dispositions and sets for agents to categorize their engagements.
  • Wrap-up Duration (only available if the Channel Type is Voice or Video): Click Edit to select the amount of time before another engagement is routed to a member after they finish a queue call. This can be useful if you require call queue members to take breaks in-between calls; for example, to allow time to enter notes for the call.
    Note: If a phone user is a member of multiple queues, they will not receive inbound notifications from their other queues when they are in the wrap-up time period for this queue.
  • Wrap-up Expiration: Click the toggle to enable or disable a wrap-up expiration limit and default disposition. Click Add Default Disposition to set the default disposition. If enabled, when the expiration time is exceeded, the engagement will auto closed; agents’ status will automatically change from Occupied to Ready; and the default disposition will be automatically set.
    Note: If the toggle is greyed out, you must set dispositions or disposition sets to the queue using the Dispositions setting above. This is required so that you can set the default disposition.
  • Short Abandon (only available if the Channel Type is Voice or Video): Short abandoned engagements are those that get disconnected before reaching the set threshold. These records will be excluded from Contact Center reports. Click Edit to enable, disable, or update the threshold.
  • Auto-closed Settings (only available if the Channel Type is Chat): Set up how inactive chat engagements are handled and closed.
  • Auto-closed Time (only available if the Channel Type is SMS): Set up how inactive SMS engagements are handled and closed.
  • Alert: Set up real-time alerts for when the queue approaches or reaches certain KPI thresholds.

Storage section

Callback Settings section

Changing queue callback settings. This is only available for voice or video queues.

Outbound Queue Preferences section

Note: This section is only available if the Channel Type is Voice.

Enable or disable outbound voice calling.

Policy tab

You can change these settings in the Policy tab:

Distribution options

The available distribution options depend on the queue's channel type.

Voice or video channel types

  • Longest idle: Routes calls to the member who has been in the Ready status for the longest time since their last inbound notification. If the member that has been idle the longest does not answer, the system will rotate to the next member that has been idle for the longest time.
  • Longest Idle while Ready: Routes calls to the member who has been in the Ready status for the longest time since their status changed from Not Ready. If the member that has been idle the longest does not answer, the system will rotate to the next member that has been idle for the longest time.
  • Sequential: Rings available members one at a time. After selecting this option, specify the ring duration for each member until the Max Wait Time setting below is reached. Click Specify Order to rearrange the order by clicking and dragging each row or clicking the arrow icons.
  • Rotating: Rings available members in a regularly changing order so that calls are distributed evenly. You can specify the ring duration for each member until the Max Wait Time setting below is reached.
  • Simultaneous: Rings all available members at the same time.
  • Additional option if the call distribution is Sequential or Rotating, or Longest idle:
    • Notify duration for each queue user: Select the amount of time the queue will ring each member. Make sure to take note of the Max Wait Time setting when selecting the notify duration.
  • Do Not Distribute: Only allow engagements to be manually assigned to queue members. Also, allow the assigned agent or supervisor to release the voice or video engagement back to the queue.

Chat or SMS channel types

  • Most Available: Notifies the queue members with the lowest load, and haven't reached their maximum concurrency for messaging set in user settings.
  • Notify duration for each queue user: Select the amount of time the queue will notify each member. Make sure to take note of the Max Wait Time setting when selecting the notify duration.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.