Sharing links to messages and channels in Zoom Chat

Last Updated:

Users can create shareable links to public channels or specific messages in a public channel, and then share the links within or outside of Zoom to open directly in Zoom Chat. Deep links allow you to send other users directly to a specific location, saving them time locating a particular message or channel.

Notes:

This article covers:

Prerequisites for sharing links to Zoom Chat messages and channels

  • Account owner or admin privileges to enable/disable link sharing
  • Zoom desktop client
    • Windows: version 5.10.0 or higher
    • macOS: version 5.10.0 or higher
  • Zoom mobile app
    • Android: version 5.10.0 or higher
    • iOS: version 5.10.0 or higher
  • Advanced chat encryption disabled

How to enable or disable link sharing

Account

To enable or disable link sharing for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then IM Management.
    Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, IM Settings have been moved to Account Settings under the Zoom Chat tab.
  3. Click the IM Settings tab.
  4. Under Security, click the Share links to messages and channels in Zoom Chat toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon  , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

Note: If you signed up for a new Zoom account after August 21, 2021; or the New Admin Experience is enabled on your account, IM groups have merged with Groups. Learn how to create groups and change group settings.

To enable or disable link sharing for a group of users:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit IM groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then IM Management.
  3. On the IM Groups tab, click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click Advanced Settings.
  5. Under Security, click the Share links to messages and channels in Zoom Chat toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

How to share a link on the desktop client

Share a link to a public channel

  1. Sign in to the Zoom desktop client.
  2. Click the Chat  tab.
  3. On the left-side chat panel, locate the public channel that you want to share a link to.
  4. Hover over the name of the channel, then click the down arrow  .
  5. Click Copy Link to Channel.
  6. Paste the link where you want to share it.

Share a link to a message in a public channel

  1. In a public channel, locate the message that you want to share a link to.
  2. Hover over the message, then click the ellipses button .
  3. Click Copy Link to Message.
  4. Paste the link where you want to share it.

How to share a link on the mobile app

Share a link to a public channel

  1. Sign in to the Zoom mobile app.
  2. On the Meet & Chat tab, locate the public channel that you want to share a link to.
  3. Long press the name of the channel, then tap Copy Link to Channel  .
  4. Paste the link where you want to share it.

Share a link to a message in a public channel

  1. In a public channel, locate the message that you want to share a link to.
  2. Long press the message or tap the ellipses button .
  3. Tap Copy Link to Message
  4. Paste the link where you want to share it.

Permissions for viewing a link to a Zoom Chat channel or message

When you click a link to a public channel or message in a public channel, Zoom verifies what permissions you have.

Note: If you click a link shared externally (outside of Zoom), you are prompted to sign in before you can view the channel/message, to ensure that you have the correct permissions.

  • If you’re already a member of the public channel, you are brought directly to that channel or message.
  • If you’re not a channel member, but you are on the same account as the channel admin, then you are shown a preview of the channel with the option to join first.
  • If you’re not a channel member and are not on the same account as the channel admin, then you’ll receive an error message and you can’t view the public channel or message.

Aside from incorrect permissions to view, you will also receive an error message if the channel or message was deleted.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.