Zoom Whiteboard Administrator Guide

Last Updated:

Zoom Whiteboard settings can be configured by administrators from the web portal. These settings include options for in-meeting and out-of-meeting whiteboards, in addition to sharing options. All whiteboards created by users on the account can also be managed by administrators from the web portal. The whiteboard content, however, is only visible to the administrator if shared. 

Zoom Whiteboards are enabled by default for most accounts, but can be toggled on or off for certain users or the entire account.

This article covers:

Note: If you do not see the option to enable Zoom Whiteboards on your account, please contact Zoom Support.

Prerequisites for using Zoom Whiteboard as an administrator

  • Administrator privileges on the Zoom web portal

How to enable Zoom Whiteboard for your account

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Account Management, then click Account Settings.
  3. Click Whiteboard.
  4. There are three primary options that can be enabled or disabled:
    • In-meeting Whiteboard
      Whiteboards created in a Zoom meeting by the Host or any of the attendees. Applies to Zoom desktop clients. 
    • Out-of-Meeting Whiteboard
      Whiteboards created outside of Zoom meetings in the Zoom desktop client, Zoom PWA, or web portal.
    • Whiteboard cloud sharing
      Enables users to share their whiteboards only with users within their organization, or to include users from outside their organization.
  5. Click the toggle to enable the option. (Enabled by default) 
    Note: You can also use groups to enable these options for a specific set of users, rather than the whole account.
  6. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing these settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Using the settings for In-meeting Whiteboard

The settings below are enabled by default if Enable In-Meeting Whiteboard is enabled.

  • Allow saving new whiteboards created in-meeting to cloud
    Allows users to save whiteboards to the cloud. The Allow to save the whiteboard content feature must also be enabled for this to apply. 
  • Allow to save the whiteboard content
    Allows users to export in-meeting whiteboard content in PDF or PNG formats. Select the users who are allowed to save content and determine if you would like to automatically export the content when a share is stopped. 

Using the settings for Out-of-Meeting Whiteboard

The settings below are enabled by default if Enable out-of-meeting Whiteboard is enabled.

  • Allow saving whiteboards created out-of-meeting to cloud
    Allows users to save whiteboards to the cloud.
  • Allow export of whiteboard content
    Allows users to export content in PDF and PNG formats.

What happens if saving Whiteboards to the cloud is disabled

Whiteboards with the cloud saving option turned off are temporary in nature and not saved permanently in the Zoom cloud.  As long as there is a single active user on the whiteboard, others can join by any of the following methods:

  • refreshing an inactive browser tab
  • opening a previously bookmarked link

If saving whiteboards to the cloud is disabled after whiteboards are created, the whiteboard lifespan is limited to the session of the last user.  If there are no active users for the whiteboard, it will no longer be available, even if the collaborators have bookmarked or saved the link to it. This includes the following cases:

  • The collaborator closed the browser or loaded a different URL in the same browser tab.
  • The collaborator is inactive for a predefined period of time. This is currently defined as 60 minutes. After this period the user is disconnected from the whiteboard. 
  • If all collaborators are offline because of any of the above reasons, the whiteboard will no longer be reopened.

Using the settings for Whiteboard cloud sharing

This setting allows users to choose which groups their whiteboards are shared with. The Only users in the same organization option is selected by default. Click Allow sharing with anyone with a Zoom Account to allow users to share with others outside your organization who have a Zoom account. This setting applies to whiteboards created both in-meeting and out-of-meeting.

How to manage the Whiteboards on your account

Zoom account owners and admins with the Zoom Whiteboard permission can view a list of the whiteboards created by users within their organization and help manage them.

Note: Account owners cannot view the content of the whiteboards from the Whiteboard Management page. The whiteboard must be shared for the content to be viewed.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Account Management, then click Whiteboard Management.
  3. Click the ellipses to the right of a whiteboard to choose from the following options:
    • Share: Select other users on the account to share with.
    • Lock: Temporarily prevents editors, commenters, and viewers from opening and editing a document, while owners and co-owners retain full editing functionality.
    • Rename: Change the name of the whiteboard.
    • Duplicate: Makes an exact copy of the whiteboard. The title can be changed before the copy is created.
    • Move to Trash: Moves the whiteboard to the owner's Trash tab on their personal Whiteboards page. 

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.