Enabling or disabling gesture recognition

Last Updated:

Admins can allow participants to give more visible feedback through gestures by using gesture recognition. This feature translates a real-world gesture into Zoom’s existing reactions, allowing for visual gestures, such as a raised hand, to automatically display a corresponding meeting reaction and allow users to more easily react during a meeting or webinar. Currently, this feature is supported for Raise Hand ✋ and Thumbs Up 👍 reactions.

Account owners and admins can enable or disable, as well as lock, this feature at the account and group level. By default, gesture recognition is disabled at the account and group levels but enabled for accounts that have meeting reactions and webinar reactions turned on.

Users will still need to enable this in the Zoom desktop client or mobile app settings

Prerequisites for enabling or disabling gesture recognition

  • Account owner or admin privileges

How to enable or disable gesture recognition

Account

To enable or disable gesture recognition for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Gesture Recognition toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon unlocked-button.png, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

To enable or disable gesture recognition for a group of users:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Group Management.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Gesture Recognition toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog displays, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon unlocked-button.png, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.