Changing settings for inactive chat or SMS engagements

Last Updated:

Admins can set up how inactive chat or SMS engagements will be handled and closed. For example, you can mark chat engagements as inactive after 5 minutes of inactivity, then customize the message that notifies the consumer of the closed engagement.

Prerequisites for change settings for inactive chat or SMS engagements

  • Account owner or admin privileges
  • Pro, Business, or Education account
  • Zoom Contact Center license

How to access settings for inactive chat or SMS engagements

Account-level settings

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Contact Center Management then Preferences.
  3. Scroll down to the Inactive Messages section.
  4. Change the inactive chat or SMS settings.
  5. (Optional) To prevent admins from changing this setting in queue settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Queue settings

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Contact Center Management then Queues.
  3. Click the display name of the queue you want to edit.
  4. Scroll down to the Auto-closed Settings section.
  5. Change the inactive chat or SMS settings.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.

Inactive chat or SMS settings

  • Make messaging engagements inactive after _ minutes: Specify the minutes of inactivity (between 1 to 120) when chat or SMS engagement will be marked as inactive.
  • Auto-close inactive messaging engagements after _ minutes: Once a chat or SMS engagement is marked as inactive, auto-close the inactive engagement after the specified amount of minutes (between 10 to 720).
    • Send an auto-closed message for web chats: Customize the chat or SMS message that is sent when a chat or SMS chat is closed due to inactivity.
    • Send an alert message before auto-closing for web chats: Customize the chat or SMS message that is sent before a chat or SMS is closed due to inactivity.
    • Send the alert message _ minute(s) before auto-closing: Specify the minutes to display the alert message before displaying the alert message in the previous setting.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.