Effect of Zoom Team Chat settings on inter-account communications

Last Updated:

Zoom Team Chat admins have a number of different settings they can configure to keep their users’ and their clients’ information secured and managed within their account. Understanding how these settings are enforced when using Zoom Team Chat with external contacts is important. This article provides examples of how various Zoom Team Chat admin settings affect both users on your account, as well as external users in chat and channels created on your account.

This article covers:

Cloud storage retention

Any chat or channel inherits the chat cloud storage retention policy of the account that starts the chat or channel.

Examples:

Cloud Storage Retention period Account A
(2 years)
Account B
(5 years)
Retention period if user in Account A starts the chat with user in Account B 2 years 2 years
Retention period if user in Account B starts the chat with user in Account A 5 years 5 years
Retention period if user in Account A starts a channel that includes members from Account B 2 years 2 years
Retention period if the channel owner is changed to a member in Account B member

Note: The associated retention periods only apply to messages sent after the channel owner is changed. Messages sent before the channel owner is change would have a 2 year retention period.

5 years 5 years

Note: Chats that contain free and paid users can also affect cloud storage retention. Learn more about  how these scenarios can affect cloud storage retention

File sharing

Both users must have file sharing enabled by their account owner/admins to send or receive files in chats and channels. If their settings conflict, the following logic applies.

  Account A Account B
File sharing setting Enabled and all file types allowed Disabled
Users can send files to internal or external users Yes No
Users can receive files from internal or external users Yes No

Note: If enabling file sharing, admins can restrict the allowed file types that users can send.

Advanced chat encryption

Account owners or admins will not be able to view messages in the Chat History Report if the account has advanced chat encryption enabled. This applies even if the user chats with a user in another account (with advance chat encryption disabled).

  Account A Account B
Advanced chat encryption setting Enabled Disabled
Account owners and admins can see messages sent by users in Account A in the Chat History Report No No
Account owners and admins can see messages sent by users in Account B in the Chat History Report Yes Yes

 

Chat Etiquette Tool

Chat etiquette policies only apply to the users on the account where the policy is enabled. Polices do not apply to the external users.

  Account A Account B
Chat etiquette policy(ies) Enabled Disabled
User’s messages can trigger chat etiquette policies from account A Yes No

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.