Managing retention policy for Zoom Whiteboard

Last Updated:

Retention policy allows account owners and admins define how long whiteboards must be kept before they are deleted automatically. After the specified retention period, whiteboards will be moved to Trash so users still have an opportunity to recover them. By default, this setting is disabled, but can be enabled at account, group or user level.

Notes:

  • Whiteboards that were last opened beyond the specific threshold will be marked for deletion and users will see a warning 30 days before, to provide enough time if they want to keep them.
  • Once a whiteboard is moved to trash, users can recover it from the Trash tab and the clock is reset.
  • Users can safeguard whiteboards by starring them so they won't be deleted.

This article covers:

Prerequisites for managing retention policy for Zoom Whiteboard

  • Administrator privileges on the Zoom web portal

Note: If you do not see the option to enable Zoom Whiteboards on your account, submit a request to Zoom Support.

How to change the retention policy for Zoom Whiteboard

Account

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Account Management then Account Settings.
  3. Click the Whiteboard tab.
  4. Under Retention Policy, click the Delete Whiteboards that haven’t been opened by anyone for a specified number of days toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. Select the retention period for whiteboards.
    • By default, the retention period is set to 90 days but you can choose from 60, 90, 120, 180 or 365 days.
      Note: Once the feature is enabled, for existing Whiteboards, the days are counted from the day the setting is updated.
  6. Click Save.
  7. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group, click the lock icon  , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an administrator with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the navigation menu, click User Management then Groups.
  3. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  4. Click the Whiteboard tab.
  5. Under Retention Policy, click the Delete Whiteboards that haven’t been opened by anyone for a specified number of days toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. Select the retention period for whiteboards.
    • By default, the retention period is set to 90 days but you can choose from 60, 90, 120, 180 or 365 days. If the admin sets the threshold to 120 days, then the value can be only set to a lower threshold.
      Note: Once the feature is enabled, for existing Whiteboards, the days are counted from the day the setting is updated.
  7. Click Save.
  8. (Optional) If you want to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group, click the lock icon  , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click the Whiteboard tab.
  4. Under Retention Policy, click the Delete Whiteboards that haven’t been opened by anyone for a specified number of days toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. Select the retention period for whiteboards.
    • By default, the retention period is set to 90 days but you can choose from 60, 90, 120, 180 or 365 days. If the admin sets the threshold to 120 days, then the value can be only set to a lower threshold.
      Note: Once the feature is enabled, for existing Whiteboards, the days are counted from the day the setting is updated.
  6. Click Save.

    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.

Zoom Community

Join the 100K+ other members in the Zoom Community! Login with your Zoom account credentials and start collaborating.